PDA

View Full Version : stitch welding with Flux core...yeah I know...

mugendork
03-02-2008, 01:56 AM
Alright, I am debating. I have access to 3 MIG welders...gas-less... I want to stitch the interior before I shoot paint. Right now all I have access to is basic flux core gas-less mig units. Has anyone done it with reasonable results. I don't care if I have to clean up the welds with a grinder later, my only concern is the quality of the weld. What are your guy's thoughts?

EJ253
03-02-2008, 02:06 AM
whats the amperage on the gasless migs?

i dont know much, but i would say use ~140amp, body sheet metal is about 18 gauge i think
but who cares if you get a little spatter, i wouldnt grind the welds later, that seems like you could easily mess up a perfectly good seamwelding job by adding unnecessary heat which could possibly warp it or comprimise the structural integrity of the spot welds

any one can correct me if what i said is inaccurate, im still learning too

luisgonz
03-02-2008, 02:14 AM
Dont do it looks like shit on a donkey dick.LOL hahahaha Use gas for god sake. Dont be cheap.

donkayroo
03-02-2008, 03:00 AM
140 is way too hot and will burn thru...penetration will be fine if that's what you're concerned about. 90 amps is still too hot but the majority of cheap Kragen, Harbor Freight, etc flux core migs are 60-100amps so that's what you'd have to work with. If you're desperately set on fluxing you're seams go with the lowest setting and work slow enough for good penetration but fast enough so you don't burn a hole in the sheet. It'll burn thru easier than you think if you can't go as low as 30amps.

Function over form...but if you don't have welding experience now is not the time to practice. Have someone with experience do it or at least teach you. The welds will look really ugly no matter how experienced you are. If the metal ain't cleaned to it's bare bones, it ain't gonna be a great weld.