PDA

View Full Version : Car Does not Turn Off / Stays on When Key is Removed


Slidin240Wayz
02-17-2008, 12:39 PM
Well after trying to figure out the issue all day with the harness, I figured out there was a loose ground on the backside of the intake manifold.

When I turned the key to turn off the car, the engine is still running and all the interior lights are off.

I have already checked all the relays themselves off of their respective connections and they all return to their normal state when the energy is removed.

Can you please tell me what connections I should specifically look into?

Thank you.

Carlos

DOOK
02-17-2008, 12:46 PM
you have a turbo timer carlos? something going haywire with that?

629RWHPstang
02-17-2008, 01:07 PM
geezzzz that cant be good lol

Chrischeezer
02-17-2008, 02:21 PM
undo what u last did...

downshift_sideways
02-17-2008, 02:50 PM
Are you running a turbo timer?

So this occurance happened after you tightened that ground wire in the back of the manifold?

fcdrifter20
02-17-2008, 04:29 PM
might be ur ecu. i had the same problem with one of my ecu's, i borrowed my friends and it worked fine so i got another one.

if u have a buddy with ecu ask them to let u try it out realy quik.

oh yea..... i hooked up a turbo timer to that messed up ecu about a month later and the engine turned off fine.

240mph
02-17-2008, 05:09 PM
Try taking a look at your ignition switch wires. Follow it and see if there is
any rigs or anything connected to it.

Slidin240Wayz
02-17-2008, 07:47 PM
you have a turbo timer carlos? something going haywire with that?

No turbo timer. All the wires by the key are good to go.

geezzzz that cant be good lol

I spent a hours going over the engine harness and ECU...I was so excited to hear the car running...and so sad when it would not shut off.

I disconnected the battery, nothing happened.

Then I just disconnected the ECU and the car shut off.

undo what u last did...

All I did was re-loom the engine harness and ground the wires correctly on the back of the intake manifold.

Are you running a turbo timer?

So this occurance happened after you tightened that ground wire in the back of the manifold?

No TT.

Yes it happened after I tightened down the grounds.

The other issue it could be is inside the ECU.

might be ur ecu. i had the same problem with one of my ecu's, i borrowed my friends and it worked fine so i got another one.

if u have a buddy with ecu ask them to let u try it out realy quik.

oh yea..... i hooked up a turbo timer to that messed up ecu about a month later and the engine turned off fine.

The was a short somewhere and it burned the ignition pin in the ECU. I cleaned it up and resoldered the connection and it is all set.

The issue is the short also burned a diode, but there is still continuity in it.

I might remove the diode and replace it and try again.

I will post up pictures in a few.

Try taking a look at your ignition switch wires. Follow it and see if there is
any rigs or anything connected to it.

I am sick of checking my ignition wires, but everything was clear.

I am sure it is something inside the ECU.

Carlos

g6civcx
02-17-2008, 07:53 PM
I would check the ignition switch harness again. With the battery disconnected, I would probe the hot wire and the ignition as per the FSM while turning the key through its various position. Check for continuity and lack thereof based on the position of the key.

If you can prove without a doubt that your ignition switch is fine then follow the ignition wire and continue downstream.

Lights and such follow the accessory wire. The ignition wire keeps the engine running. That's why I still suspect a bad ignition switch.

Slidin240Wayz
02-17-2008, 10:33 PM
I would check the ignition switch harness again. With the battery disconnected, I would probe the hot wire and the ignition as per the FSM while turning the key through its various position. Check for continuity and lack thereof based on the position of the key.

If you can prove without a doubt that your ignition switch is fine then follow the ignition wire and continue downstream.

Lights and such follow the accessory wire. The ignition wire keeps the engine running. That's why I still suspect a bad ignition switch.


Thank you.

Where is the ignition switch itself?

DataXUnknown
02-18-2008, 12:56 AM
Hey guys my car is having the EXACT same problem! Kinda happy to find a thread on this.

For me, I think I may have spliced one of the KA plugs onto the SR harness wrong. Maybe you did the same? Mine is an S13. To turn it off, my friend pulled out one of the fuses in the fuse box I forget which one.

But the last plugs I spliced in, had two wires that weren't listed on frsport.com's wiring guide (pink and brown) so I'm pretty sure it has somthing to do with that...I just kinda guessed on those two hahah.

nevaland9
02-18-2008, 01:02 AM
i had that problem when the motor got too hot. we figired out it had something to do with the previous owner splicing the fans into hte ignition and not properly hooking up a relay.
does a engine bay relay click when you turn your car off?

Z U L8R
02-18-2008, 06:51 AM
are you using the lower harness that came with ur 240, or the one that came with ur motor set?

Dave =]

g6civcx
02-18-2008, 07:13 AM
Thank you.

Where is the ignition switch itself?

I'm not sure how your setup is rigged, but generally on the stock car you remove the lower steering column cover. The ignition switch harness is there. It's connected to the ignition switch where you stick your key in.

Slidin240Wayz
02-18-2008, 08:09 AM
i had that problem when the motor got too hot. we figired out it had something to do with the previous owner splicing the fans into hte ignition and not properly hooking up a relay.
does a engine bay relay click when you turn your car off?

I do not have e-fans on the car at the moment.

There are 4-5 engine bay relays, none of which I use; fog, a/c, etc.

Which relay are you talking about, it could be inside the cabin?

are you using the lower harness that came with ur 240, or the one that came with ur motor set?

Dave =]


The one that came with the motorset.


I'm not sure how your setup is rigged, but generally on the stock car you remove the lower steering column cover. The ignition switch harness is there. It's connected to the ignition switch where you stick your key in.

The one on the back side of the ignition...where there are 5-6 wires?

Key in and there is a T that locks into the switch...acc and on functions.

My concern are these two connections in the ecu.

Take a look at the diode which is a little crispy. I am going to find the replacement for it and re-solder it into the system.

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y264/Cdoria/100_7756.jpg

This connection is for the ignition and is the source of the problem. I have to check the underside of the board to see if the solder heated up and dripped onto another connection, which could be sending power to ignition when I take the key out.


http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y264/Cdoria/100_7754.jpg

Carlos

Z U L8R
02-18-2008, 09:05 AM
that shit is fried crispy sir.

what year is your 240? what motor?

i'll say that on 240z's and other old ass cars with external voltage regulators, when you end up bypassing it and putting in a newer internally regulated alternator, sometimes you have to wire in a diode into the bulb check wire to keep the car from staying running, perhaps something similar is happening to you. you can try to unplug the 2 ping grey oval plug off your alternator, start your car then see if it'll turn off. that'll let you know if the problem's in your alternator despite the kentucky fried chicken going on in your ecu. but if it doesn't change anything then, u might wanna take care of the obvious and get another ecu and go from there...
gl,


Dave =]

Slidin240Wayz
02-18-2008, 09:11 AM
you can try to unplug the 2 ping grey oval plug off your alternator, start your car then see if it'll turn off. that'll let you know if the problem's in your alternator
Dave =]

I will try that...thank you.

Carlos

Slidin240Wayz
02-20-2008, 09:21 PM
HIP HOP HOORAY HOOOO HEY HOOOO

I took apart the ignition switch and put it all back together.

I replaced the diode in the ECU.

Car turns on...

AND

TURNS OFF!!!

SEXYTIME

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y264/Cdoria/Drift%20S14/100_7788.jpg
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y264/Cdoria/Drift%20S14/100_7788.jpg

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y264/Cdoria/Drift%20S14/100_7790.jpg

Engine Torque Damper

Top off coolant

and

Headlight retro tomorrow.

Carlos

Z U L8R
02-20-2008, 10:53 PM
kick ass. so i was the closest *happy dance lol

Dave =]

KwKouki
02-20-2008, 11:04 PM
kick ass. so i was the closest *happy dance lol

Dave =]

:rofl: I shall award you with one free internets sir +1

that is a creepy ass problem though, hope I never have this or the car is going into the ocean

Silvie
08-20-2011, 04:08 PM
There are a lot of unanswered threads out there regarding this issue and the solution.
I had the same issue. Replaced ECU, problem solved.