PDA

View Full Version : Head unit-less?


tgd89
02-13-2008, 12:01 AM
I've searched on several audio forums, but mostly turn up with referances to carputer(or some other in car pc) solutions. Is it possible to not have a head unit? In my case I just want to run the audio jack from my mp3 player to my speakers. I know I need an amp for the speakers, but also something to process the audio signal, any ideas?

racepar1
02-13-2008, 12:06 AM
One question, WHY! I see no point to this at all.

tgd89
02-13-2008, 12:12 AM
Okay, well my stereo has gotten stolen from more than one of my cars, and I could care less about radio. Also the car is getting more track car oriented and the extra space can be used for gauges ect...

eastcoastS14
02-13-2008, 12:13 AM
if anything i would suggest relocating the headunit....someone posted a pic the other day of their AC controls located in their arm rest...head unit should be about the same size

tgd89
02-13-2008, 12:19 AM
Hmmm, that could be a possibilty, but I've heard of people using a single audio processor of some sort. If relocating the head unit is the only option, all head units are the same depth right? Because, really, all I need is something to process the sound, not really amplify it.

yokotas13
02-13-2008, 12:25 AM
hella easy

Get your self a 4 channel amp
get the Headphone jack to RCA adapter
plugthe RCA intot he amp, and go

racepar1
02-13-2008, 12:30 AM
LOL, he ^^^ said hella!

tgd89
02-13-2008, 12:32 AM
Thanks, that's what I was looking for, but how would the sound quality be? Seems like going straight to the amp wouldn't be so great, and what if i needed some sort of sub out?

vodka2
02-13-2008, 12:39 AM
just get a system ... japanese d1sl cars got fuckin dvd players lol... looks baller.

96Turbo
02-13-2008, 12:42 AM
sound quality shouldn't be too bad. It would actually be even better than plugging your mp3 player into an AUX jack on a head unit. Every time you amplify the sound you lose quality. that way it would be 1. MP3 amp 2. Head Unit Amp 3. External amp (if you have one)

By plugging it straight into the amp it's being amplified twice which isn't ideal, but you probably won't notice. Just try it in someone's car who has a system. Adjust the gain so it's in a good range and POOF!! done

xelitex
02-13-2008, 12:43 AM
just run the deck harness into the glove box...easy as hell...PWN'D!

tgd89
02-13-2008, 12:47 AM
I might just do that, as I already have a 7ft monster audio/video cable(only size they sell) from my zune. I was just seeing if anyone had already done this.

SR_Elliott24
02-13-2008, 12:51 AM
Why don't you go to the closest wal-mart,target, radioshack whatever and buy some portable mp3 player speakers to ride around with.

rhs13
02-13-2008, 01:13 AM
Why don't you go to the closest wal-mart,target, radioshack whatever and buy some portable mp3 player speakers to ride around with.

Hahaha. my friend's dad's 70s ford truck has one speaker from a boom box sitting on the floor.

tgd89
03-30-2008, 10:48 PM
For anyone who cares, this worked like a charm. Just using my mp3 player ->rca to amp, with little to no distortion. Only bad part is that the amp makes noise without something hooked up to it, solved this with a switch, and you can't really set the EQ, so I got a preamp EQ.