PDA

View Full Version : 240 noob needs quick answers

xShootingStar
02-10-2008, 09:42 PM
hey all im new to the 240 scene, i got a few questions that are probably easy for you guys to answer that will help me out a ton!

well heres the story, im about to buy this 240 from a local guy and he has some problems with it

-he says the brakes arent working 100%, he said that even with the pedal down all the way, it stops very slowwww. hes not a mechanic but he "THINKS" (quoting exactly what he says) i think theres no air in the brake lines because when the clutch isnt engaged, pressure builds up, and when the clutch is engaged, no pressure builds up at all. so my question is, whats the problem? and around how much will it cost to solve this problem?

-rear brake light doesnt work because of something he said, like... when u brake, the sensor or whatever behind it doesnt go off, so you'll need to replace that for the backlights to work. my question is, how much would it cost to replace this?

sorry guys i know im a huge noob but im new to the scene, much thanks! anymore info needed on those problems, i cant tell ya cuz idunno nor does the owner. if we can talk on aim about this it would be even better and faster, my aim is ethannsayz i am online right now! thanks all!

bbejj123
02-10-2008, 09:45 PM
if i were you i would just get a totally new brake setup or get a setup from a working car that has no problems also maybe get a q45 or j30 calipers and rotors (well worth the money imo) u can get from any junk yard

xShootingStar
02-10-2008, 09:48 PM
well im looking to fix the problem if its cheap, if not then ill just get new brake setup like the 300zx brakes, which my brother has and its working nice in his car so im fine with it also. most importantly i need to know how much would it be to fix my problem to decide if i should fix it or not ya know. im trying to save $$ for an sr, this car would be my daily for a few months until i get around 3g's for an sr swap.