PDA

View Full Version : Just replaced MAF and there is still white smoke...

240sx_sr20det
09-22-2007, 02:23 PM
So I bought this car with a ka24de in it and it had a maxima maf and was running like shit. It would barely idle before dying. I replaced it with the stock MAF and now it idles perfectly but there is still white smoke coming from the exhaust. The car was turbo'd and the guy before me took the turbo out, but left the SAFCII in there. What could be the problem?!

UNISA JECS
09-22-2007, 02:27 PM
First when you had the car with teh Maxima MAF you shoudl have verified that the SAFC was set to use that MAF with teh stock ECU, second now that your using a stock MAF you need to make sure the SAFC is set correctly to read your stock MAF and stock ECU, so in short check your IN and OUT settings.

240sx_sr20det
09-22-2007, 02:34 PM
5 IN 5 OUT but then there are two more numbers that are 1 IN and 1 OUT.

I am a big time Noob to using a SAFCII.

UNISA JECS
09-22-2007, 02:43 PM
5 IN 5 OUT but then there are two more numbers that are 1 IN and 1 OUT.

I am a big time Noob to using a SAFCII.

just leave the "other numbers" as they are as in stock dont touch them.

PoorMans180SX
09-22-2007, 02:43 PM
White smoke usually means you're getting coolant into your engine, not excess fuel (That would be black smoke). Does the car overheat? Or haven't you got it running long enough to find out. Sounds like you have bigger problems than a MAF to me.

240sx_sr20det
09-22-2007, 03:00 PM
I haven't had the car running long enough to know if it overheats or not. The MAF fixed the idling problem, now the car runs great. Someone said it might be a blown head gasket, so I'm going to try and get a compression checker and see if that is it.

Should I keep an eye on the coolant level? Maybe add some more in? or would that be bad?

idlafie
09-22-2007, 03:22 PM