PDA

View Full Version : Need help with steering problem

JohnJohn86
05-13-2007, 11:00 PM
Hi, I am new to the 240SX. Just sold my 87 AE86 and got myself a S14 with 200K miles. I need help with suspension problem!

The car drives fine when turning in low speed. However, when I throw it in a corner, I can feel a huge play in the rear suspension and the car would suddenly turn in a much larger angle. It is like all wheel steering without control!

I put some rear sub frame collar bushing and it doesn't help the problem at all. What else should I check?

NemeGuero
05-13-2007, 11:19 PM
Whats your alignment like?

Do you have a rear sway bar?

JohnJohn86
05-13-2007, 11:30 PM
haven't check the alignment yet, but the car drives straight.
yea, there is a sway bar.

Also there is a "clunk" noise when the I turn hard.

NemeGuero
05-13-2007, 11:44 PM
Maybe your diff is slapping around. How are those bushings?

JohnJohn86
05-14-2007, 12:07 AM
I would assume the bushings are bad, but I don't want to spend a lot to change all the bushings and find out it's not the problem. Which bushing should I change first? I already have the polyurethene subframe collar.

What do you mean by the diff slapping arround? How can it affect the steering?

Project-Mike
05-14-2007, 12:19 AM
I think I might have a similar problem. I like to describe it like a sudden gust of wind while turning. I drive an S13, but the problem is also the same with the clunking sounds from the rear when i turn hard.

NemeGuero
05-14-2007, 12:25 AM
Its hard to tell without riding in the car or a better description of whats going on.

what kind of suspension is on the car?

what you described was something floating in the rear end, now its steering?
The jerk of turning the car hard into the corner is making something in the back of the car off balance, creating that roll you felt.

wangan_cruiser
05-14-2007, 01:18 AM