PDA

View Full Version : Looking for instructions on replacing a head + headgasket...


Gnnr
09-13-2006, 10:58 PM
As the title states, I'm looking for instructions on how to replace the head and headgasket. Its blown on my KA. If there's nothing online and you recommend a book thats fine too. I want to see if this something I can tackle myself and if I come to the conclusion that 'no I can't do it', then atleast I learned something.

Jung918
09-14-2006, 01:06 AM
Not too sure on the install but I know you should get the head decked.

mandoz85
09-14-2006, 02:36 AM
Download the FSM, it will show all steps with pics.


http://www.zeroyon.com/index/content/view/24/47/

95zilvia
09-14-2006, 03:20 AM
You're gonna need a copy of the Factory Service Manual.
And a torque wrench + basic tools and knowledge.

Gnnr
09-14-2006, 01:56 PM
Duh! Should have checked the FSM. Thanks guys. If there's any other usefull links, post 'em up.

HalveBlue
09-14-2006, 03:31 PM
Having just replaced a headgasket myself I can tell you that the FSM is going to be your #1 resource.

Other than that here are some things I found useful:

-Get a long, skinny magnet. There are a lot of small parts that are easily dropped in small, tight spaces. I can't count how many times a magnet has saved my butt on that one.

-Make sure you use a good torque wrench and follow the torque specs in the FSM. The parts you will be disassembling/assembling require precise adjustments. Don't half ass it!

-Take your time and plan for extra. Dissasembling the head requires removing a lot of parts. Make sure you give yourself plenty of time to work on this project to save yourself from rushing through things and possible screwing something up.

-Take out the engine if you can. Not necessary but it makes working on the engine that much easier.

-Make sure you have the proper tools.

-People will tell you that you have to get the head resurfaced. As long as you are within factory specs you shouldn't have to, though it might be advisable. The procedures for checking to see if you're surfaces are still in spec are detailed in the FSM.

Good Luck!