PDA

View Full Version : LOSING OIL??!!! Help


MAX Power SR
09-10-2006, 06:42 PM
well i had just finished my build , sr s14, with new pistons, rings, rods etc. its been about 1200 miles since i finished it. well the car started to make noises, rattling like theres no oil and indeed there was barely any oil. i dont seee any smoke, leaks or anything. it smells a little like oil is burning but i dont know from where. WTF can this be. if it matters i had used Mobil 1 10w-30 synthetic oil. for now i just put in a qt of oil and the noise went away. any suggestions.:bite:

koukimonster139
09-10-2006, 06:45 PM
...did u build it yourself?

how much experience do you have with engine building?

MAX Power SR
09-10-2006, 09:39 PM
im ase certified and was a mechanic for 4.5 years and have built approximately 45 motors, so i guess im pretty experienced.

koukimonster139
09-11-2006, 06:03 AM
<--ASE certified too!
Unless you have a small leak and you drive your car a lot and the oil burns off the side of the block before you get a chance to see it leak? I have no idea where ur oil is going if its not smoking or leaking.

MAX Power SR
09-11-2006, 06:59 AM
yeah i checked for leaks and all that. i heard it was normal for performance cars to burn oil, especially turbo charged cars. my cousins sti needs about a qt and half in between every oil change. but i dont think it should be losing most of the oil like in my case.

koukimonster139
09-11-2006, 07:16 AM
is the back of your bumper black? that might be where all ur oil is going. its normal for high performance engines to burn a little oil, but not enough to make it rattle and be noisy. Has it been like this since you built it or just recently happening?

Gramentz
09-11-2006, 09:38 AM
Check the turbo lines to see if anything appears wet in that area.

bardabe
09-11-2006, 11:03 AM
It's pretty notmal I built my motor too. and it does burn oil. but not as much. and it dosent make any noises it mightg be that the Oil you are using is too thin. since turbo cars run hotter you might need thicker Oil. I run Valvoline 20-W50 and only lost like half a quart betwen oil changes. (I;ve only done one oil change)

SnakeKack
09-11-2006, 01:06 PM
Check around the header. My 300zx was losing oil but there were no drips. It would drip out the valve cover and right onto the passenger side header and you wouldn't notice it unless you stuck your head in there right after shutting it off, it would burn and disapate and you could smell it and sometimes see a bit of smoke.

MAX Power SR
09-11-2006, 03:03 PM
today i decided to do a oil change. while draing approxiamtely 2 qts came out. filled with oil, Quaker state Synthetic 10w-30. Checked dipstick and it was full. Drove for while and felt much better and no noises. But now i realized there is smoke at times with heavy to medium accelration and it smells like oil burning. it doesnt smoke or anything at idle. idles perfect. no unusual noises or vibration. Can this mean that the turbo is going out? By that i mean like the seals. Or what else can it be?

trybal
09-11-2006, 03:11 PM
my turbo just coughs up smoke when i get on it. Insta smoke screen.. But i don't loost that much oil at all. And the smoke is deffinatly far from un-noticable

koukimonster139
09-11-2006, 05:12 PM
mm could be a number of things:

so when u built the engine did u rebuild the turbo?

did u replace the valve seals?

im guessing it more than likely is one of these two things. also consider rings, breather, or guides.

MAX Power SR
09-14-2006, 09:30 AM
did a compression test today
#1- 140
#2-140
#3- 140
#4- 140

put a little oil in each cylinder then retested
#1- 145
#2- 145
#3- 145
#4- 147

are these number normal for an s14 sr. keep in mind i have an 1.2 mm cometic head gasket

Gramentz
09-16-2006, 05:09 PM
My motor is rebuilt with 600 miles on it and my comp. numbers are in the mid to high 150's....I thought you weren't supposed to use synthetic oil for a few thousand miles? Anyway, I believe that if your compression numbers go up when you put oil in the cylinders it means that your rings are either bad or not fully seated yet. How did you break in the motor?

DJPimpFlex
09-16-2006, 06:08 PM
yea I dont know how true it is, but I have heard that synthitic oil is so thin that on a newer motor it can slip past the rings and burn a little bit of oil. Once the motor is fully broken it it can be run on synthetic oil.

I'm not sure on this though because most new cars come with synthetic oil from the factory. Maybe they break in the motors a bit prior to putting hem in the cars or something, but maybe this is part of your problem.