PDA

View Full Version : temp. gauge not working


2_fast_240
09-06-2006, 04:27 PM
[/B]i just got my rebuilt motor installed and running but i have one problem. the temp. gauge and tach dont work. the motor is out of a 97 and the cars a 91 so im thinking that could be the issue. if the temp. sensor comes out of the block just below the intake manifold like i think it does, then i know that it is hooked up. im not to concerned about the tach but i really dont want to test drive the car without the temp. gauge working. does anyone have some ideas on whats going on here.

chayo
09-06-2006, 08:14 PM
i have the same problem. the only gauge that its workin is the fuel gauge.

2_fast_240
09-06-2006, 09:04 PM
yea, same here, has it been like that since you got the car or did you do something to the car that might have caused it.

Tenchuu
09-06-2006, 09:23 PM
double check wireing and that it has the correct temp sender? hint: parts stores routinely list wrong temp sender numbers

2_fast_240
09-07-2006, 04:20 PM
ok ill check that but i used the same one from the 91 motor and it worked fine then. it seems almost as if it has nothing to do with the temp. sensor itself since the tach isnt working either. i know the ecu is getting the rpm reading because the tach on my safc 2 works. i know it didnt blow a fuse, checked that. can anyone confirm that the temp. gauge is located on the block right under the center of the intake manifold.

chayo
09-07-2006, 08:40 PM
i have sr20det swap

2_fast_240
09-08-2006, 11:42 AM
oh, well im guessing we dont have the same problem then

2_fast_240
09-11-2006, 12:24 PM
Got the temp. gauge and tach workin. i put the temp. gauge from the old motor in and it worked fine. the tach was just cause the needle was stickin to those stupid e-bay gauge faces that are now gone.