PDA

View Full Version : car idles crappier.. Please help!!

speed_racerx
08-29-2006, 10:54 PM
i recently moved from houston to long beach about a month ago. since then the car has been acting funny. some examples would include:

1. rpm's rev( by itself) up to 1400 for 20secs then drops to 8-900 for 10secs(shakes like hell when it revs that low) and repeats.
*problem was recently fixed when i regapped my sparkplugs

2. car still shakes like hell when it stays idle at 900 rpm's

3. my fuel economy dropped back to hummer h2 equivilent(spl?)
? im thinking that the culprit might be the octane rating difference between houston and long beach causing my knock sensor to activate. thats what i think but im no mechanic.:smash:

the motor is a S13 SR-Blacktop. the setup is fairly stock with smic, etc. if anyone is wondering, the octane rating in houston is 93.

thank you for all your help

anthony

Wei240
08-29-2006, 11:01 PM
check ecu for codes, (which i don't think you can because s13 blacktops dont have led on the ecu??, not sure)

if not, get fsm (or search) and test your maf, mine did the exact same thing
and tps could be bad too..

arminder_d
08-30-2006, 12:37 AM
93 is enough for an SR to run without detonation. I run 91 in vancouver bc and it does fine. I doubt your knock sensor is doing it. Check the wiring to your MAF and related sensors. Could just be tricking the ecu into think its getting a lot more air than it is.

speed_racerx
08-31-2006, 01:56 PM
im not sure on how to check teh wiring or what to check for. its also feeling kinda laggy to me. i dunno... i was kinda leaning towards my timing. it did the same thing when my timing was off when i was back in houston.

what do guys set your timing to here in california? the second mark on the right, right? i was wondering if anyone could be so kind to help me check my timing and borrow teh timing light.

thank you for your help wei240 and arminder d

anthony

'90RPS13
08-31-2006, 02:43 PM