PDA

View Full Version : above 3k... hesitation and choking

miucus
07-15-2006, 02:59 AM
hey, just got my s14 sr20det swaped into my s13 today.
while driving home today, the engine started to hesitate/choke and shake violently when going above 3k rpm in every gear. seems like the fuel is getting cut off or something. the engine idles fine though. im a newbie when it comes to problems so please help me out.

mods
greddy turbo pipe and downpipe
greddy intake
stock exhaust =/
stock fuel pump =/ replacing soon but can this be a problem?

thanks for the help

DJPimpFlex
07-15-2006, 03:58 AM
search....your maf probably isnt properly grounded. Common problem. Check codes.

Nizzan4u2nv
07-15-2006, 10:00 PM
I concur. Seems like a maf problem.

240silvia
07-16-2006, 01:09 AM
nope nope nope nope nope, wrong answer. It's s fuel problem. What do you have for fuel management? SAFC or anything? You aren't getting enough fuel. Since you are new, and I don't know how new you are, I'm going to assume that you don't know anything, lol. When you don't have enough fuel, you motor blows up, lol. Generally, in a turbo car, it's better to be a little on the rich side before you get it tuned.

This is what you do...

1.Park the car, DO NOT DRIVE IT
2.Get a Walbro 255 Fuel pump, and an Apexi S-AFC
3.Take it to a shop and get them to tune it

When I first installed my KA-T my car did the exact same thing. 3K, the damn thing died. I added more fuel on the SAFC, bingo, no more problems.

-Charles

Nizzan4u2nv
07-16-2006, 01:50 AM