PDA

View Full Version : E5 ECU Self Diagnostic Mode (Theres no screw!!)


Ess14
03-01-2006, 02:20 PM
I need to get into self diagnostic mode for my s13 blacktop 5 spd ecu (E5).

There is no screw to turn on it.

The top and bottom covers are screwed in at the 4 corners, and those are the only screws on the thing. Top and bottom are flat metal.

One side of the unit (not top or bottom, but side) contains a circular hole and a square hole and the circular hole has a sticker around it with a circular arrow and japanese lettering, looks like this COULD be where a philips head screw is missing, but I thought the screw was on the top or bottom?

Cars idle is shit trying to get into SDM but I'm stuck.

I've been trying to search for problems similar, can't find any on this ECU and the search option won't let me use the word "E5"...

How will I be able to diagnose it now? Help appreciated-
Thanks

Ess14
03-02-2006, 11:21 AM
pretty urgent if anyone has a clue...
Thanks

SR20d2fourT
03-02-2006, 03:11 PM
The dial you turn for the ECU is a white little thing next to a little light. The screw is inside of a whole on the side of the ECU...turn clockwise and then when done, counter-clockwise. It uses a little flathead like the ones used for glasses...but nevermind all this if it doesnt have one. I dont know why it wouldnt have one, I dont even see how one would come off. Are you sure youre looking for the right thing? It has to be there.

Ess14
03-02-2006, 05:26 PM
Alright, I may be saved.

You described what I seemingly described. I read other posts on the topic without the FSM and what I saw didn't seem right.

It is a hole and when i looked at it i THOUGHT i saw a very tiny white screw head but it looked like a philips screw and it was so vaguely indented, I guess bad light, that I just thought it was like a dead end. I also didn't see an LED, like some people described but IIRC it will use the Check engine light instead?

I'll check it again and have an update tomorrow.

Thanks

SR20d2fourT
03-02-2006, 07:41 PM
I dont know about the check engine light thing...it wouldnt hurt to try, I'd like to know as well. Hope everything goes smoothly...use a light next time :)

Ess14
03-04-2006, 02:59 PM
Well i saw the screw head it was a philips head and it turned it counter clockwise and then back and my check engine light didnt light up.
I don't see an LED to light up...

Here are some pictures this is what I'm looking at.
The screw head is in the left hole, is this right?
Where would the LED be?

http://img383.imageshack.us/img383/3307/ecupics0012zb.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img383.imageshack.us/img383/4778/ecupics0021xr.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

WILDACEX187
03-04-2006, 03:14 PM
is the e5 ecu from the type X? if so it might throw the codes to the cluster. thats wat i've heard.

Ess14
03-04-2006, 03:24 PM
im not sure if its from the type x, the codes would show as the blinking Check engine light right? Well that still doesn't light up.

I'm pretty sure there is going to be a problem too as my cars not running too well right now.

Ess14
03-04-2006, 11:39 PM
does that pic look like somethings missing? should CEL be blinking?
Anyone? Thanks