Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk > Engine Tech

Engine Tech Technical discussion related to all relevant engines such as KA, SR, RB, CA, 2JZ , and Lx series.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 01:19 AM   #1
wahhpshh
 
wahhpshh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: east tennessee
Age: 25
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
s14 RB20DET no power to ecu

car was running at one point then had harness issues. bought a new harness and after doing the f3 plug wiring im not getting any fire. itll still turnover all day long and all accessories still work, so main harness is still in working order. i also noticed that fuel pump isnt priming once key is switched on and also noticed that the ecu code light isnt turning on. so at that point i started running a multi-meter and im getting no power on the f3-1 nor f3-17 wires (constant and switched 12v). ive tested relays and theyre still good. currently not getting any power to go thru the relays either. i traced down a known good constant and switched source and im still not getting anything to happen with ecu. i ran a spare ecu i have to see if that was the problem and had no luck. all grounds are tight and for good measure cleaned all surfaces. is there anything else that i could possibly be missing? any and all ideas will be greatly appreciated.
wahhpshh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-21-2013, 02:57 AM   #2
Biggamehit
Zilvia Addict
 
Biggamehit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Misawa Japan
Age: 31
Posts: 661
Trader Rating: (11)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Biggamehit Send a message via MSN to Biggamehit Send a message via Yahoo to Biggamehit
Are the wires from the f3 plug indeed going to the ECU? also your body harness pink and black wire for fuel, is that going where it needs to go? to the body harness itself.

Check your engine continuity fuse(s) as well.. i had one blow before as I was jumping the car .... didnt like it and just popped replaced it nothing was wrong.
__________________

Facebook: Pink Ranger Drift
Biggamehit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:41 AM   #3
wahhpshh
 
wahhpshh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: east tennessee
Age: 25
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I wired directly off the o,p,q plugs to the f3 plug itself. All fuses are good but still yet to run a multi-meter to verify anything. its just throwing me off that im not getting power to ecu but i am everything else. Was thinking wipers still functioned which would be awkward since it runs directly off f3 plug.
wahhpshh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:44 AM   #4
wahhpshh
 
wahhpshh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: east tennessee
Age: 25
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
bump. any other opinions???
wahhpshh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:19 PM   #5
Prof Chaos
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: savannah,GA
Age: 25
Posts: 35
Trader Rating: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Had a similar issue.... Bro sounds dumb
But check the o2 sensor plug and the coil pack plug, they are the only 2 plugs that are the same... I had my coil pack plugged into the o2 sensor, and the plug from the ecu going into the plug for the o2 which went into the harness

I was lacking spark because of this, i also had no power from the switched ignition because of this, although the fuel pump was working at the time... Check the pinout for the ecu and multimeter for the fuel pump. Might also wanna check at the ignition cylinder itself if theres power comig in or out
Prof Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:42 PM   #6
wahhpshh
 
wahhpshh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: east tennessee
Age: 25
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: (1)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Ive ran multi meter on both f3 1 and 17, all relays and still no power. ive found a constant and switched power source and i still cant get power to anything after connecting to the correct pin on f3 plug. ill check out the o2 and coil pack plug though... my luck itll be something stupid like that.
wahhpshh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:32 PM   #7
Prof Chaos
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: savannah,GA
Age: 25
Posts: 35
Trader Rating: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ya man, i thought all the plugs were good... Then i started going through the wiring harness, i wasted about 20 hours on the electrical until i realised it

May or may not have made me feel like i rode the short bus
Prof Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2014, Zilvia.net™