Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk > Engine Tech

Engine Tech Technical discussion related to all relevant engines such as KA, SR, RB, CA, 2JZ , and Lx series.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2010, 06:40 PM   #1
CamryOnBronze
Post Whore!
 
CamryOnBronze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: MI
Age: 28
Posts: 2,962
Trader Rating: (114)
Feedback Score: 114 reviews
Send a message via AIM to CamryOnBronze
Is an O2 Sensor Needed With Power FC?

So this might be a stupid question, but I have searched and haven't found a definitive answer. I posted my build on a local forum and mentioned that I bought a new OEM O2 sensor as part of the rebuild of my SR20DET. A couple of people told me that my car won't even reference the O2 sensor anymore when I start using the Power FC because it will, "always be running in open loop mode."

Is this true? Do I not need to run/replace my O2 sensor if using the Power FC? I want to run whatever is best, but if I don't need it I will return it and get a little dough back. Thanks in advance for the info!

Damon
__________________

CamryOnBronze.Wordpress.com
CamryOnBronze is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-15-2010, 06:56 PM   #2
garagelu
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 29
Posts: 1,698
Trader Rating: (56)
Feedback Score: 56 reviews
In the power fc menu, there is a setting to turn the stock o2 sensor on or off. Well not really on/off per se but whether or not to reference to it.

When you go to tune the car, the tuner will turn that function off because it will throw the tune off and besides the tuner will be looking at the wideband.

What is weird though is that last time I went to matt at monkeywrench, he told me that the power fc wasn't reading my stock o2 sensor and that its probably fouled. I figured that it was possible because I had that same o2 sensor when I blew the ringlands on my sr. So I went ahead and replaced it shortly after I got my car tuned there.

There is a o2 sensor monitor in the power fc commander but what's weird is that when I go to that monitor, it show 0 volts. So not really sure what is going on with that.
garagelu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 07:29 AM   #3
CamryOnBronze
Post Whore!
 
CamryOnBronze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: MI
Age: 28
Posts: 2,962
Trader Rating: (114)
Feedback Score: 114 reviews
Send a message via AIM to CamryOnBronze
Hmm, that's weird. Thanks for the feedback man. Maybe I will just hold onto it and install it just in case.
__________________

CamryOnBronze.Wordpress.com
CamryOnBronze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 12:54 PM   #4
steve shadows
Premium Member
 
steve shadows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: LA and OC
Posts: 8,209
Trader Rating: (5)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via AIM to steve shadows
That's basically right.

If you have the 02 feedback turned ON then the car will try to cycle the 02 sensor in closed look to adjust your off boost afrs. If you have it turned off it's basically just pulling straight off what your map is set at (up until a certain TPS voltage) then it switches right off the map). similar to how a stock ecu works only you dont have the abilty to turn off the 02 feedback.
steve shadows is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2014, Zilvia.net™