Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Technical Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2010, 08:59 PM   #1
latin03001
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: (11)
latin03001 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
s15 S15 Gauge Cluster Wiring

I have a 98 240sx with sr20det, 6spd transmission and rear differential from a s15 spec r.

I have been researching to get the s15 gauge cluster wired to my s14. I downloaded both FSM and spent a few days trying to figure out which wires go where. So far I have been able to get all the warning lamps to function. Temperature gauge, Tach, Fuel and Blinkers seem to work fine. Fuel I am not sure but when cluster was plugged in, it read correctly.

On my s14 gauge cluster the speedometer works through a SGI-5 Dakota box and works fine. I am having a problem getting the speedometer to work on the s15 gauge cluster. The needle doesn't move at all. Here is the pinout I was able to put together from reading both FSM.





ABS Sensor has two wires, the way is currently working with the s14 gauge cluster is one of the wires goes through the Dakota box and connects to pin 25 on the s14 M71 plug. The other wire connects to pin 26 straight from abs sensor.

Here is a picture of my s15 gauge cluster plugged in...


If you have wired a s15 gauge cluster before, any help would be appreicated. Also if my pinout is incorrect, help me correct it.

Thank you.
latin03001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-10-2010, 05:12 PM   #2
latin03001
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: (11)
latin03001 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Follow up

I had a chance to work on this again. I was able to get the speedometer working by doing the following on my sgi-5 dakota digital box.


After getting it to show speed on the speedometer I will calibrate it using the dakota digital instructions.

The only thing left to do is to fit into my s14 dash. Fitting it will be the most difficult part from what I can see. I'll post pictures if I ever end up doing it.

Thanks for viewing my post and hopefully it'll answer some of your questions before you buy a s15 gauge cluster.
latin03001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 07:23 PM   #3
Multigraph
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 3
Trader Rating: (0)
Multigraph is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hi there
That was a nice write-up. That will save me some time. Thanks.
I have the same year car and s15 clip, and did start the swap 2 days back. I have had these parts for a long time without been able to begin the swap. "Long Story" I have however tinkered with the parts every now and then and have fitted the s15 gauge in to the instrument panel and it fits quite nicely. If you need assistance with that email me. Good luck
Multigraph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 05:14 PM   #4
latin03001
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: (11)
latin03001 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Multigraph View Post
Hi there
That was a nice write-up. That will save me some time. Thanks.
I have the same year car and s15 clip, and did start the swap 2 days back. I have had these parts for a long time without been able to begin the swap. "Long Story" I have however tinkered with the parts every now and then and have fitted the s15 gauge in to the instrument panel and it fits quite nicely. If you need assistance with that email me. Good luck
If you have the whole s15 clip, you might want to use the abs computer to get the speed signal from it. I am glad my post will help you wire up your gauge cluster, pm me if you have any questions.

Later
latin03001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 08:51 AM   #5
geiesrp
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Switzerland
Age: 10
Posts: 13
Trader Rating: (0)
geiesrp is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hi Latin

I want to install s15 gauge cluster into my european s14a. There are some things I miss here. I don't have s15 gearbox nor the s15 diff.

So, can I install s15 cluster in s14 only by using the dakota converter?
geiesrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 11:48 AM   #6
latin03001
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: (11)
latin03001 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by geiesrp View Post
Hi Latin

I want to install s15 gauge cluster into my european s14a. There are some things I miss here. I don't have s15 gearbox nor the s15 diff.

So, can I install s15 cluster in s14 only by using the dakota converter?
You don't need the s15 gearbox; if your s14a was ABS equipped you can use the signal from the differential same way as the s15 differential.
Do not feed your car’s ABS module a modified signal that will screw things up with the functionality of your ABS brakes. I would just tap the signal from the diff.
latin03001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 07:02 PM   #7
NAVY-ET
Zilvia Member
 
NAVY-ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: jacksonville, FL
Age: 32
Posts: 225
Trader Rating: (3)
NAVY-ET is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
i use the s15 diff in my s13 and i ran the wires directly to my s15 cluster and it works fine
NAVY-ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 11:39 AM   #8
latin03001
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: (11)
latin03001 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAVY-ET View Post
i use the s15 diff in my s13 and i ran the wires directly to my s15 cluster and it works fine
Which pins did you plug the Diff signal and ground to on your s15 gauge cluster?
latin03001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 07:15 AM   #9
NAVY-ET
Zilvia Member
 
NAVY-ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: jacksonville, FL
Age: 32
Posts: 225
Trader Rating: (3)
NAVY-ET is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by latin03001 View Post
Which pins did you plug the Diff signal and ground to on your s15 gauge cluster?
ill look today i cant remember
i have my dash off right now
NAVY-ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 08:11 AM   #10
latin03001
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: (11)
latin03001 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAVY-ET View Post
ill look today i cant remember
i have my dash off right now
Take a picture of how you fit it in your dash.
latin03001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 09:42 AM   #11
xpertsnowcarver
Post Whore!
 
xpertsnowcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 2,667
Trader Rating: (44)
xpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud of
Feedback Score: 44 reviews
I wired a friend's S15 cluster into his S14. There are pics included in regards to fitment.

http://zilvia.net/f/s-chassis/396844...-your-s14.html
__________________

My YouTube Channel
xpertsnowcarver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 11:58 AM   #12
latin03001
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: (11)
latin03001 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpertsnowcarver View Post
I wired a friend's S15 cluster into his S14. There are pics included in regards to fitment.

http://zilvia.net/f/s-chassis/396844...-your-s14.html
Awsome work!

thanks
latin03001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 12:12 PM   #13
Options13
Nissanaholic!
 
Options13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 1,795
Trader Rating: (43)
Options13 is a jewel in the roughOptions13 is a jewel in the roughOptions13 is a jewel in the roughOptions13 is a jewel in the roughOptions13 is a jewel in the roughOptions13 is a jewel in the roughOptions13 is a jewel in the roughOptions13 is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 43 reviews
damnit! we need one of these threads for an s13!!!
__________________
Drift team page
www.facebook.com/savageimpression
Options13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 12:20 PM   #14
xpertsnowcarver
Post Whore!
 
xpertsnowcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 2,667
Trader Rating: (44)
xpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud ofxpertsnowcarver has much to be proud of
Feedback Score: 44 reviews
I thought there was.

Simply cross match the S15 and S13 FSMs. Latin kindly put an excel doc together, but that stems from cross matching FSMs.




__________________

My YouTube Channel
xpertsnowcarver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 01:12 AM   #15
billyblaze
Zilvia Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North lauderdale,Fl
Posts: 602
Trader Rating: (0)
billyblaze is a well-known jackass
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sorry for bumping in old thread but I'm about to do mine
Its a 98 240sx

My question is the 98 pin out the same for abs and non abs diff

Excuse me if this seems to be. A noon question

Thanks in advance
billyblaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 08:36 PM   #16
latin03001
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: (11)
latin03001 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyblaze View Post
Sorry for bumping in old thread but I'm about to do mine
Its a 98 240sx

My question is the 98 pin out the same for abs and non abs diff

Excuse me if this seems to be. A noon question

Thanks in advance
Pin out has the pin# for abs warning light, gauge cluster for abs and non abs 97-98 240sx are the same.

Good luck and post some pictures when you're done.
latin03001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2015, Zilvia.net™