Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk > S Chassis

S Chassis Technical discussion related to the S Chassis such as the S12, S13, S14, and S15.

Old 05-23-2018, 01:28 PM   #1
Kouki1998
Leaky Injector

Trader Rating: (0)
Kouki1998 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
s14 timing chain question

I am fairly new to working on cars so bare with me.

so i am doing a timing rebuild on a ka and i've got it all lined up with where the marks are supposed to be, but every time i turn the crank it always changes where the marks are and its always about a tooth off (i have read on some forums that it i supposed to line up after two full rotations). well my question is whether this is normal? i also want to add that i made the mistake of moving the crank when it was at tdc with the front chain off, could this be the cause of the timing being all off? i have redone the timing but im still having the same issue...

any feedback is appreciated
Kouki1998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-23-2018, 09:04 PM   #2
staying_chuki
Leaky Injector

Trader Rating: (1)
staying_chuki is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
timing chain question

You should post pictures that would help. I had to do this about 3000 times because i drank too much and kept fuckin it up lmao. You should be at tdc to start obviously, 2nd to the left marker or put a screw driver in the #1 piston hole and crank till its all the way to the top. After that just take your sprockets and throw em on, i found it easiest to start with the exhaust side and then just muscle the chain onto the intake cam sprocket. Not 100% sure where your issue lies though since there's no pics. If you can post some i could help you get this worked out in like five minutes haha.