Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Technical Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars

Closed Thread

Old 05-26-2016, 01:17 AM   #1
choleaoum
Zilvia Addict

Trader Rating: (7)
choleaoum is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
New clutch already worn out? Safe to just reuse pressure plate and flywheel?

I bought a brand new ACT 6 puck clutch from FRSport and it's already hitting the metal sleeves on the clutch disc! I didn't do any clutch kicks and put barely any miles on it. And yes, I'm a great driver and babied the car.

I saw on eBay they were selling just the disc for 160$~, would I be able to reuse the pressure plate considering the flywheel & pressure plate are practically brand new? There are very very minor hot spots, but I'll have it resurfaced and ask the machinest.

Before I hear it,
I KNOW it saves time to buy a new clutch setup, but I can't dish out an another additional 400$+ for a clutch. I'm thousands in the hole and I can barely drive the car. There are other priorities at the moment, in a perfect world I would just buy a new clutch kit. It also only took me 2 hours to pull my engine out.

Additional notes: The clutch grabs very hard, and doesn't slip at all. The learning curve was very rough, but that's what I expect from a 6 puck sprung. I wouldn't have known the clutch was hitting the metal sleeves on the disc until I pulled the motor out to respray the engine bay.
Sponsored Links
Old 05-26-2016, 01:37 AM   #2
anti tyler
GM2 (SW/AW)

Trader Rating: (37)