Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk > Engine Tech

Engine Tech Technical discussion related to all relevant engines such as KA, SR, RB, CA, 2JZ , L24/26/28, VG, VQ, and LSx series.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2015, 11:15 AM   #1201
turbronegro
Zilvia Junkie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SoCal
Age: 29
Posts: 324
Trader Rating: (0)
turbronegro is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, I'm just looking for motor/transmission/harness/ecu. All the deals I find the seller wants to include "240sx swap kit" with it so the price stays up. I don't need that shit though. I'm just going to hit up an importer.
turbronegro is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-25-2015, 07:43 PM   #1202
killer240
Post Whore!
 
killer240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pair of dice, Norcal
Age: 28
Posts: 2,619
Trader Rating: (24)
killer240 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 24 reviews
Is there a company that makes an adapter kit for 370z transmission to bolt on to an RB25?
__________________
REVIEW
killer240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 08:23 PM   #1203
seagrasser
Zilvia Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lynnwood WA
Age: 43
Posts: 256
Trader Rating: (2)
seagrasser is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Question is why. Other than gaining an extra gear, there is a lot to consider

VQ transmission swap points to consider
1. speed sensor, there isn't one. VQ's get speed out of the diff
2. Adapting, usually required adapting a RB bell housing to an adpater to the VQ tranny
3. Gearing. First three gears are pretty short (dialed in for 3.5 rear). So spinning in first three gears is pretty easy.

RB25 tranny's are very stout

RB25 transmission, less headache, less work, less hassle and totally strong.

Read more here

http://zilvia.net/f/showthread.php?t=261850
__________________
S14 RB25
seagrasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 12:06 PM   #1204
slow n steady
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Arizona
Age: 29
Posts: 1
Trader Rating: (0)
slow n steady is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Does anyone know where to find the bottom end and head torque specs for the NEO. r33 FSM is easy to find but i can't find NEO torque specs anywhere. thanks?
slow n steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 10:50 AM   #1205
wiring specialties
Zilvia Junkie
 
wiring specialties's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 398
Trader Rating: (3)
wiring specialties is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
For anyone looking to replace their original harness, you can get a brand new one here: http://www.wiringspecialties.com/rb25det.html
wiring specialties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 02:02 PM   #1206
MR_GUTTI
Zilvia Junkie
 
MR_GUTTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: (9)
MR_GUTTI is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 9 reviews




MR_GUTTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 09:50 AM   #1207
wiring specialties
Zilvia Junkie
 
wiring specialties's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 398
Trader Rating: (3)
wiring specialties is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
We have harnesses for the RB20, RB25, RB25 NEO and RB26

Let us know if there is anything we can assist you with

http://www.wiringspecialties.com/
wiring specialties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 03:12 PM   #1208
rbpwrd240
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio TEXAS
Age: 32
Posts: 1,119
Trader Rating: (19)
rbpwrd240 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 19 reviews
I was wondering if anyone had been successful using the stock s14 radiator with dual Altima fans? I don't want to run a pusher system as I want to keep my a/c. Also I already have all the Altima stuff lying around.

Anyone been able to pull this off?
rbpwrd240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 11:53 PM   #1209
sandy ms6
Zilvia Member
 
sandy ms6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wildomar, Ca
Age: 28
Posts: 260
Trader Rating: (15)
sandy ms6 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 15 reviews
Hey everyone I just swapped my rb20 into my s13 recently started right up but runs crappy. sputters and pops a lot and smells pig rich. I did a lot of testing a found that my TPS and throttle switch are not getting the proper voltage. I tried replacing with another sensor with no luck, still getting the same read. Tps had proper 5v power supply but the signal is at .32v at closed throttle an increased to 3.1v at WOT, that's maxed out on the adjustment range. Throttle switch is only getting 3.3v at closed throttle and is suppose to be at 8-10v. And that's 3.3v with the sensor plugged in and unplugged. I've checked my harness for any breaks or loose connections and doubled check all my grounds. All voltage reads have been checked on the plug side and ecu side and did not change. I'm leaning towards it possibly having a bad ecu? Thoughts?? Or suggestions before I hunt one down. Or is it harness related?? Thanks
sandy ms6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 09:20 AM   #1210
seagrasser
Zilvia Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lynnwood WA
Age: 43
Posts: 256
Trader Rating: (2)
seagrasser is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Next step is to find an ECU to swap with and see if that helps. Also make sure that the ECU is getting full voltage (power in) from the loom.
__________________
S14 RB25
seagrasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 07:08 PM   #1211
sandy ms6
Zilvia Member
 
sandy ms6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wildomar, Ca
Age: 28
Posts: 260
Trader Rating: (15)
sandy ms6 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 15 reviews
Whelp after checking my harness over and over. I looked up my ecu # and it turned out to be a rb25de ecu. Ecu number was p7 / 23710 23u02 / mec-r542 / a1 / 4930 . Anyone that needs to look an ecu number I found some good info on this site http://www.rbparts.co.nz/page/342746?showMobileSite=1
sandy ms6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 07:54 PM   #1212
seagrasser
Zilvia Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lynnwood WA
Age: 43
Posts: 256
Trader Rating: (2)
seagrasser is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandy ms6 View Post
it turned out to be a rb25de ecu.
Hate it when that happens. Let me know if you need an ECU. I have one on shelf gathering dust.
__________________
S14 RB25
seagrasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2016, 07:27 PM   #1213
TheNigguh_Danny
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: 562 California
Age: 22
Posts: 54
Trader Rating: (0)
TheNigguh_Danny is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Any one have a pin out of the white F1 dash plug & know what wires must be pinned in it from an rb20 harness here's a pic of the plug I'm talking about
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F1 DASH plug.jpg (51.5 KB, 40 views)
TheNigguh_Danny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 07:21 PM   #1214
MR_GUTTI
Zilvia Junkie
 
MR_GUTTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: (9)
MR_GUTTI is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Can I use r33 rb25det piston ring on a rb25det neo??? I know neo rings have a different part number but I already have a set from a r33. Thanks!!!!
MR_GUTTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 11:55 PM   #1215
MR_GUTTI
Zilvia Junkie
 
MR_GUTTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: (9)
MR_GUTTI is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR_GUTTI View Post
Can I use r33 rb25det piston ring on a rb25det neo??? I know neo rings have a different part number but I already have a set from a r33. Thanks!!!!
I already found out that they are different, Well Just the 1st ring is
MR_GUTTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 10:53 AM   #1216
StruckANerve
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: (0)
StruckANerve is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok I have a RB20det going into my s14. I want to do the wiring myself to save some bucks. All the the links I have found while researching how to do the wiring are dead. Does anyone have some stuff saved that they could post up or even email me? This is the most complete info I've found so far but like I said, the links are dead. http://forums.nicoclub.com/wiring-a-...14-t69266.html

I don't know which plugs are they are talking about on the RB harness that get wired into the f3 dash plug.
StruckANerve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2016, 03:58 PM   #1217
ADIDASilvias
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 120
Trader Rating: (0)
ADIDASilvias is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Q45 Throttle Position Sensor Options

I'm in the process of building a RB25det NEO for my 95 S14, currently in the "drain my bank account" stage, before I get to installing everything on the motor and then finally swapping out the KA.

I purchased a "Greddy Style" intake for a decent price. Not some crappy cast eBay junk, but a precision machined billet flange and sheet aluminum construction intake plenum.

It comes with a 90mm Q45 sized throttle body that looks to be good quality from the photos, but that remains to be seen. Regardless, I am looking at TPS options since it is supposed to use the Q45 TPS.

The prices for the Q45 TPS are fairly high considering what they are and the prices of other units on the market. It leads me to believe that supply and demand are driving up prices with everyone and their brother putting Q45 TBs on every engine imaginable.

At any rate, I have searched my literal ass off trying to find an equivalent TPS that is plug and play or that works with minimal modification, and have determined the best bet is the TPS from an early 90s Maxima (V6). They appear to be the same unit, with the same plug, but I have read that the Power and Ground leads are reversed (Signal is still the middle pin).

So, does anyone know if I de-pin a Maxima TPS and reverse the Power and Ground leads if the TPS is now the equivalent to the Q45?

If it comes down to it I'll purchase a true Q45 TPS, but it would benefit us all if we could come up with another option. Maybe someone who works at an auto parts store could compare the two and make sure the plugs and bolting points are the same? They sure look the same from photos.

Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?
ADIDASilvias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 11:51 PM   #1218
MPZoom
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1
Trader Rating: (0)
MPZoom is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hey guys sorry in advance if this is beaten to death but apparantly search function won't find the keywords "S15". Anyways, I couldn't find any definitive answers on what is needed for a RB25DET swap into a S15 Spec-S Chassis. Is it the exact same as dropping it into a S14? Can someone point my dumbass into a parts list of whats needed to be done?
Engine/Tranny/Wiring obviously, do I have to swap a r33/32 subframe into the S15 chassis? or could I find some engine mounts to have the engine sitting properly? Also would modifications be needed to have the transmission shifter line up with the factory location of the shifter?

Help!! or point my dumbass in the proper direction thanks.
MPZoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 07:19 PM   #1219
lgsr20swap
Zilvia Junkie
 
lgsr20swap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: conn
Age: 37
Posts: 411
Trader Rating: (1)
lgsr20swap is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
So I started my rb25 for the first time a couple weeks ago to find out that I didn't seal the oil pan good enough. So I took the motor back out to just make sure it wasn't the rear main seal. It wasn't the seal but was the oil pan as I suspected. So a couple months ago I came across a really good deal on a n1 pump and I figured that while I have it off and pan off I would change it. So I'm getting all the marks on the timing set so I can take the belt off and the intake is off 3 teeth. I know 100% when I put it together originally after changing head gasket and putting head studs on that I had the marks lined up perfectly What would cause it to go three teeth off. I literally ran the motor for about 10 sec. the tension on my belt is fine. I have a greddy timing belt. I didn't change the belt tensioner cause the person I bought the motor car from recently changed the water pump and timing belt. So I guess my questions are why or how could it have done that and how should I set it so I don't damage anything when taking belt off.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
lgsr20swap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 08:29 AM   #1220
Zenki_Kouki.5
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 671
Age: 29
Posts: 129
Trader Rating: (0)
Zenki_Kouki.5 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anyone have the wiring guide for Rb25 s2 into s14?
I've searched all over the internet and I'm getting old writes with no pictures of the pinouts or not for a series 2. TIA.
Zenki_Kouki.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 02:03 PM   #1221
feito
Zilvia FREAK!
 
feito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Age: 31
Posts: 1,533
Trader Rating: (1)
feito has a reputation beyond reputefeito has a reputation beyond reputefeito has a reputation beyond reputefeito has a reputation beyond reputefeito has a reputation beyond reputefeito has a reputation beyond reputefeito has a reputation beyond reputefeito has a reputation beyond reputefeito has a reputation beyond reputefeito has a reputation beyond reputefeito has a reputation beyond repute
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
A lot of the pictures out there were hosted by non other than photobucket, so a lot of things will be a lot harder now. The rb wiring for the s14 is pretty simple thou. There should be a guide out there on how to wire it for a 200sx, u use that one combined with the usdm f3 pinout.
__________________
trying to figure out why people like pricey cholo wheels and paint
feito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 09:59 PM   #1222
Slidewayz88
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Texas
Age: 30
Posts: 60
Trader Rating: (1)
Slidewayz88 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Hello, I have a RB25det S2 with a Greddy intake manifold and I'm in need of a new IACV. In my searching I've found I can use a 91-94 Sentra Iacv but my only question in which I can't seem to find an answer to is: my current iacv has the t fitting for the hoses and the 91-94 Sentra only has one, do I have to transplant the t fitting into the Sentra Iacv? Do I just omit one of the hoses altogether? Do I join the hoses together into one? I'd like to keep both idle and air control. Any help would be great, thank you.
Slidewayz88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 01:36 AM   #1223
MarkBasaldua
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Japan
Age: 29
Posts: 4
Trader Rating: (0)
MarkBasaldua is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
JDM Parts Supply/ Request

I am currently in Japan and am able to supply you with JDM Silvia parts (among many other makes) for a variety of models and years; Am and have been in the automotive industry and scene for many years, shop is based out of Texas; so no need to worry about purely overseas transactions with non US nationals. If you are searching for a part for that one off build that you can't seem to find or are just wanting to build something with JDM parts for the nostalgia, I will be more than willing to help you; feel free to contact me with any questions or needs.
MarkBasaldua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 11:52 AM   #1224
arlok
Zilvia Member
 
arlok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere
Age: 31
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: (1)
arlok is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by smellslikerubber View Post
also looking on other opions on where to go with the car from here? as far as motor work. what are good upgrades to start with? i want to get a good strong running motor before i go and try to drift the car. if that is what i decided to do with it
What motor do you have?
I suggest to make between 200 to 300 wheel hp and get as much seat time on drifting you can. And don't overbuild your car. If you have a stock rb25 then keep it stock and go have fun. Don't keep doing lots of upgrades and don't go after high hp.

That my opinion of course.
arlok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 08:47 AM   #1225
arlok
Zilvia Member
 
arlok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere
Age: 31
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: (1)
arlok is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
RB RB25 swap on s14 shell

Hey guys,
I need to know if I can delete the 3 pin connector that goes into the tranny harness. This 3 pin connector is located at the bottom of the engine bay fuse box. Looks like its the oil pressure light. The yellow wire goes into the cluster.
So my question is: Do I need this plug on my car since I have a oil pressure gauge and a stand alone ecu?

Thank you!

PICS:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1lH...0OZn5oLAcLnoHI
arlok is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2015, Zilvia.net™