Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Technical Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars

Old 07-16-2009, 08:45 PM   #1
Rittmeister
Zilvia FREAK!

Trader Rating: (9)
Rittmeister is just really niceRittmeister is just really niceRittmeister is just really niceRittmeister is just really niceRittmeister is just really niceRittmeister is just really niceRittmeister is just really niceRittmeister is just really niceRittmeister is just really nice
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Oil pan issues - SR

OK, S13 SR20DET.

I've been running an Ebay ripoff Greddy oil pan for several years, no problems, except that the casting is thicker than it should be with the result that it doesn't hold as much as I think it should.

Two years ago I tried a Tomei pan, but for the life of me could not keep it from leaking at the flange. I installed it four times, no luck. Always applied RTV in the pattern and thickness dicated by the FSM, always torqued the bolts in the order dictated by the FSM. Returned it and went back to the Freddy.

Last week I took delivery of a Moroso pan, thinking that maybe the steel Tomei pan just couldn't conform enough to the mating surface of the engine. After all, the stock pan and the Freddy pan had never leaked, right?

Well, I just got done installing the Moroso pan for the second time, and it too leaks at the flange. Same damn thing. I even followed a slightly different regimen with the sealant that was recommended to me by 240SXmotoring (who sold me the pan), involving sealant on both the pan and the engine, and waiting 24 hours before filling with oil, and it still didn't work.