Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk > Engine Tech

Engine Tech Technical discussion related to all relevant engines such as KA, SR, RB, CA, 2JZ , L24/26/28, VG, VQ, and LSx series.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2018, 06:03 PM   #1
dakotawelch21
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: US
Posts: 4
Trader Rating: (0)
dakotawelch21 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1jz running bad

After swapping a 1jz into my 240sx I've had issues with the motor. Compression tested fine with all cylinders around 155. Once I start it the engine will run good until it is switched over to open loop the car runs bad. When trying to rev it up there is sudden jolts of power and is not smooth at all. The idle seems a little higher and has many hiccups in it. I've already changed O2, MAP, Crank position, cam position, and throttle position sensor. None of those sensors have changed anything. Yes I did set my TPS when installing it.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
dakotawelch21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-10-2018, 10:08 AM   #2
di-devol
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Woodinville
Age: 36
Posts: 1,410
Trader Rating: (5)
di-devol will become famous soon enoughdi-devol will become famous soon enoughdi-devol will become famous soon enoughdi-devol will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakotawelch21 View Post
After swapping a 1jz into my 240sx I've had issues with the motor. Compression tested fine with all cylinders around 155. Once I start it the engine will run good until it is switched over to open loop the car runs bad. When trying to rev it up there is sudden jolts of power and is not smooth at all. The idle seems a little higher and has many hiccups in it. I've already changed O2, MAP, Crank position, cam position, and throttle position sensor. None of those sensors have changed anything. Yes I did set my TPS when installing it.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Any codes? What wiring? non-vvti? ECU good?

I had a bad ecu on mine, leaky capacitors.
__________________
di-devol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 10:23 AM   #3
dakotawelch21
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: US
Posts: 4
Trader Rating: (0)
dakotawelch21 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by di-devol View Post
Any codes? What wiring? non-vvti? ECU good?

I had a bad ecu on mine, leaky capacitors.
No codes and I wired the motor by myself. Earley I had the car running fine so I doubt it is the wiring although it could be. It is a non-vvti. I have replaced the ecu with a buddy of mines and nothing has changed.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
dakotawelch21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 10:42 AM   #4
coBBz
Zilvia Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: California
Age: 23
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: (2)
coBBz is a well-known jackass
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Could be the igniter chip acting up, or something in your piping stopping airflow like mine was lol
coBBz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 11:02 AM   #5
dakotawelch21
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: US
Posts: 4
Trader Rating: (0)
dakotawelch21 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by coBBz View Post
Could be the igniter chip acting up, or something in your piping stopping airflow like mine was lol
I will check when I get home. I also have a spare ignitor that I have tried that didn't change anything.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
dakotawelch21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 11:48 AM   #6
heywier427
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: CT Coast
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: (0)
heywier427 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you unplug the o2 sensor, does it say in open loop and run fine?

I think you meant to say, goes to closed loop.
heywier427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 11:50 AM   #7
di-devol
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Woodinville
Age: 36
Posts: 1,410
Trader Rating: (5)
di-devol will become famous soon enoughdi-devol will become famous soon enoughdi-devol will become famous soon enoughdi-devol will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Bad coolant sensor?

Funny you don't have any codes.
__________________
di-devol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 12:26 PM   #8
dakotawelch21
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: US
Posts: 4
Trader Rating: (0)
dakotawelch21 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by heywier427 View Post
If you unplug the o2 sensor, does it say in open loop and run fine?

I think you meant to say, goes to closed loop.
Yes thank you I meant closed loop. I will try to unplug my O2 sensor and see what it does. Thank you guys for the input

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
dakotawelch21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 01:18 PM   #9
heywier427
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: CT Coast
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: (0)
heywier427 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No codes is weird. I would think if bad coolant temp sensor, the ecu would never go into closed loop. As its not seeing that requirement set.

I know nothing about the jz. Coil / coilpacks not functioning correctly when hot?

Thats seen more on a old style coil than coil packs/plug on coil.

Does the jz ecu allow you to plug in and read realtime data?
heywier427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2015, Zilvia.net™