Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Technical Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars

Old 03-30-2015, 08:45 AM   #1
v30magna
Leaky Injector

Trader Rating: (1)
v30magna is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
S13 ka24de sputters/looses all power after abt 1/2 throttle?

I've been tinkering on my s13 off and on for a few months now. I got it to work on as a project in my spare time. Bought it from a recycler and saved it from the crusher. When I got it it didn't run. Through troubleshooting, I found the car had a bad fuel pump, 2 bad injectors, a bad ecu, a bad temp sensor, and a bad maf. I have also replaced plugs and wires, fuel filter, and installed an adjustable fpr with gauge, using the Isis fitting at the rail. Compression is all between 165 and 175, and the vacuum is steady. Pair and charcoal evap systems were removed and all lines blocked to simplify the engine bay during troubleshooting. The tp sensor has been tested and appears to be operating properly. Car is currently auto trans, but I have a mtx swap that I want to install when I get the bugs worked out of everything else.

So what happens is: car starts up fine. Idles properly. Comes to temp, and will even rev properly when the pedal is pushed (while the car is sitting in park). When you get it on the road, driving it, it seems to do fine, until you get somewhere past half throttle. At that point it sputters and seems to loose all power. I've had the car up to 70 mph, but darn thing just looses all power after abt half throttle. Sometimes after the sputter while accelerating, it will develop a very rough idle after I decelerate and it will even die at idle. After sitting off for a while and restarted, the idle will be normal again.

What should I check? It's a very confusing problem.
v30magna is offline   Reply With Quote