Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk > Engine Tech

Engine Tech Technical discussion related to all relevant engines such as KA, SR, RB, CA, 2JZ , L24/26/28, VG, VQ, and LSx series.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2017, 09:49 PM   #1
spazzy2779
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Texas
Age: 20
Posts: 7
Trader Rating: (0)
spazzy2779 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation KA24DE swapping parts...

Hello. So i purchased an s13. And since it lacked an engine, I blindly purchased 3 engines(2 s14 engines, 1 s13) the s13 KA24DE has decent sized holes in both sides of the block... Both s14 engines just need some parts here and there. Ive done research and learned I may have a bad time if the s14 ones are 1996 and up...
I was wondering if anyone tried changing the heads. I really need an engine to pair with my trans.

Could I put an s13 head on an s14 block. Or are there differences. Going to cause issues.
spazzy2779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-18-2017, 04:47 PM   #2
3NDLESS
 
3NDLESS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NorCal
Age: 16
Posts: 23
Trader Rating: (0)
3NDLESS is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Search Please

YES you can use the head.

BUT

Center sprocket bolt USE THE S13 not S14 because you'll strippperrino.

Use s13 valve cover and s13 front timing cover thing as well.
3NDLESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 05:17 PM   #3
OutlawLui
Premium Member
 
OutlawLui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Anaheim CA
Age: 31
Posts: 1,447
Trader Rating: (19)
OutlawLui is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 19 reviews
i have a 98 s14 KA on my s13

as long as you use these s13 ka parts. u will be ok

-Dizzy
-Ecu
-Engine Harness
-coil/ignitor
-Maf

forgot these
-Throttle body
-Temp switch/sensor
__________________
.
OutlawLui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 05:44 PM   #4
spazzy2779
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Texas
Age: 20
Posts: 7
Trader Rating: (0)
spazzy2779 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3NDLESS View Post
YES you can use the head.

BUT

Center sprocket bolt USE THE S13 not S14 because you'll strippperrino.

Use s13 valve cover and s13 front timing cover thing as well.
Thank you. And im going to steal that from you its catchy
spazzy2779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 05:49 PM   #5
spazzy2779
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Texas
Age: 20
Posts: 7
Trader Rating: (0)
spazzy2779 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilpanamajack View Post
i have a 98 s14 KA on my s13

as long as you use these s13 ka parts. u will be ok

-Dizzy
-Ecu
-Engine Harness
-coil/ignitor
-Maf

forgot these
-Throttle body
-Temp switch/sensor
I did research and I learned that with the s14 if its 1996 and up you would have to replace just about everything. Thats why i was curious.

Im not sure what a dizzy is,but I have
ECU,s13 Harnesses,I'm not 100% on the coil, and im sure I have the maf
Idk about the throttle body and im not sure about the temp sensor.

Thank you as well. My s13 project will go alot smoothly that yall have informed me of this.
spazzy2779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 05:50 PM   #6
spazzy2779
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Texas
Age: 20
Posts: 7
Trader Rating: (0)
spazzy2779 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3NDLESS View Post
YES you can use the head.

BUT

Center sprocket bolt USE THE S13 not S14 because you'll strippperrino.

Use s13 valve cover and s13 front timing cover thing as well.
Thank you, I will be stealing stripperino though lol
spazzy2779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 10:16 PM   #7
3NDLESS
 
3NDLESS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NorCal
Age: 16
Posts: 23
Trader Rating: (0)
3NDLESS is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by spazzy2779 View Post
I did research and I learned that with the s14 if its 1996 and up you would have to replace just about everything. Thats why i was curious.

Im not sure what a dizzy is,but I have
ECU,s13 Harnesses,I'm not 100% on the coil, and im sure I have the maf
Idk about the throttle body and im not sure about the temp sensor.

Thank you as well. My s13 project will go alot smoothly that yall have informed me of this.
Dizzy is short for distributor. I don;t know if s14 dizzy will work with s13 head but if you're using a s14 ecu & harness; I'd recommend using s14 dizzy because its a plug and play. Not to mention you wont have an external ignition coil. You could run s13 dizzy but you gotta do something with wiring. Vice versa with s13 ecu except don't touch the s14 dizzy because there's no way to make that work afaik.
3NDLESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 10:35 PM   #8
OutlawLui
Premium Member
 
OutlawLui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Anaheim CA
Age: 31
Posts: 1,447
Trader Rating: (19)
OutlawLui is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 19 reviews
What year s13 is this going into?
__________________
.
OutlawLui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 10:45 PM   #9
spazzy2779
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Texas
Age: 20
Posts: 7
Trader Rating: (0)
spazzy2779 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilpanamajack View Post
What year s13 is this going into?
1991 fastback
spazzy2779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 10:45 PM   #10
spazzy2779
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Texas
Age: 20
Posts: 7
Trader Rating: (0)
spazzy2779 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3NDLESS View Post
Dizzy is short for distributor. I don;t know if s14 dizzy will work with s13 head but if you're using a s14 ecu & harness; I'd recommend using s14 dizzy because its a plug and play. Not to mention you wont have an external ignition coil. You could run s13 dizzy but you gotta do something with wiring. Vice versa with s13 ecu except don't touch the s14 dizzy because there's no way to make that work afaik.

I mainly have s13 parts. I may have to find a distributor.
spazzy2779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 10:55 PM   #11
S14kouki805
Zilvia Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: California
Age: 35
Posts: 719
Trader Rating: (5)
S14kouki805 has a spectacular aura aboutS14kouki805 has a spectacular aura aboutS14kouki805 has a spectacular aura aboutS14kouki805 has a spectacular aura aboutS14kouki805 has a spectacular aura aboutS14kouki805 has a spectacular aura about
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Not to thread jack but here it goes:

Found a KA24DE from a '96 S14 in Craigslist but it's currently installed in an S13.

How much work am I looking at to get it into my '96 S14 assuming he made mods to accommodate the S13?
S14kouki805 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 11:08 PM   #12
spazzy2779
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Texas
Age: 20
Posts: 7
Trader Rating: (0)
spazzy2779 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by S14kouki805 View Post
Not to thread jack but here it goes:

Found a KA24DE from a '96 S14 in Craigslist but it's currently installed in an S13.

How much work am I looking at to get it into my '96 S14 assuming he made mods to accommodate the S13?
You evil individual, lets get mine settled first but honestly it should just plop in. Given you need the harness and what not for the s14 stuff. And since its 1996 it will have all that obd2 stuff. I heard of people having issues with accessories too. So just keep all that in mind. You may have to buy alot of stuff.
spazzy2779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 09:07 AM   #13
OutlawLui
Premium Member
 
OutlawLui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Anaheim CA
Age: 31
Posts: 1,447
Trader Rating: (19)
OutlawLui is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 19 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by spazzy2779 View Post
1991 fastback
The swap should be easy then


Use the s14 KA
-Swap over the Throttle body from the s13KA
-Swap over the s13 Distributor
-Use the s13ka intake and maf
-Swap over the exhaust mani
-Swap over the temp sensor/switch
-use s13 harness *should already be in the bay
-use s13 coil/ignitor

Should run as long as timing is correct
__________________
.
OutlawLui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 11:48 AM   #14
3NDLESS
 
3NDLESS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NorCal
Age: 16
Posts: 23
Trader Rating: (0)
3NDLESS is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by S14kouki805 View Post
Not to thread jack but here it goes:

Found a KA24DE from a '96 S14 in Craigslist but it's currently installed in an S13.

How much work am I looking at to get it into my '96 S14 assuming he made mods to accommodate the S13?
I honestly assume it's plug and play as the way to make s14 ka work in s13 ka is just to get a 14 ecu and harness. If you have both the ecu and harness its a linear job. Correct me if I'm wrong
3NDLESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 12:13 PM   #15
OutlawLui
Premium Member
 
OutlawLui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Anaheim CA
Age: 31
Posts: 1,447
Trader Rating: (19)
OutlawLui is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 19 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3NDLESS View Post
I honestly assume it's plug and play as the way to make s14 ka work in s13 ka is just to get a 14 ecu and harness. If you have both the ecu and harness its a linear job. Correct me if I'm wrong
Using a s14 ka Harness in a s13 is a nightmare

Will have to do a lot of rewiring. just look up both harnesses and compare
__________________
.
OutlawLui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 03:59 PM   #16
kyral
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: wisconsin
Age: 25
Posts: 142
Trader Rating: (1)
kyral is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I know its not completely relevant. but when you torque the idler sprockewt bolt onto the head go for the minimum torque spec of 48ft lbs and id also highly recommend replacing the bolt with a longer one (stock bolt threads in about 6 out 13 threads and strips very esily above 50ftlb)
__________________
The most threads never responded to.
kyral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 03:54 PM   #17
tharocket
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: New Mexico
Age: 29
Posts: 12
Trader Rating: (0)
tharocket is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I actually have two distributers that came with my purchase of my 89. If those will work
tharocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 06:33 PM   #18
S14kouki805
Zilvia Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: California
Age: 35
Posts: 719
Trader Rating: (5)
S14kouki805 has a spectacular aura aboutS14kouki805 has a spectacular aura aboutS14kouki805 has a spectacular aura aboutS14kouki805 has a spectacular aura aboutS14kouki805 has a spectacular aura aboutS14kouki805 has a spectacular aura about
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Hey Spazzy- I picked up a 95 KA, do you have a 96+ KA intake manifold you want to sell?
S14kouki805 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
240sx, ka24de de s13 s14 rebuild, s13, s14


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2015, Zilvia.net™