Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Technical Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars

Old 06-24-2008, 11:14 PM   #1
gsracer
Zilvia FREAK!

Trader Rating: (7)
gsracer has a reputation beyond reputegsracer has a reputation beyond reputegsracer has a reputation beyond reputegsracer has a reputation beyond reputegsracer has a reputation beyond reputegsracer has a reputation beyond reputegsracer has a reputation beyond reputegsracer has a reputation beyond reputegsracer has a reputation beyond reputegsracer has a reputation beyond reputegsracer has a reputation beyond repute
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
How to paint your car in 5 easy steps

Just kidding its more like 30 steps, but what ever. Thought this might help most of you guys wanting to paint there own car. Now i am no professional and i do this in my backyard, but i get fairly decent results. So if you are a pro please chime in with any discrepancies. As i said i am not a pro so do this at your own risk. Im doind the whole car but so far only have finished the engine bay, interior and trunk. Anyway here goes...

What you need

spray gun
This is a widely debated subject there are many types available, i use a harbor frieght HVLP (high volume low pressure) special

Compressor
Also widely debated, just make sure its got enough cfm (air flow) to feed whatever fun you use

Sanding aparattus ( this means sand paper) you need a few different types including scuff pads ( these are some what like sponge pads with texture for sanding

Bondo , no body really uses bondo any more its really a plastic filler

Primers
I like two types
DTM direct to metal ( for bare metal)
And 2k primer (overall primer)

Paint and clear
I use urethane basecoat and clear coat.

First thing i do is gauge what i want to do with what im working with, IE any repairs and what not.