Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk > Engine Tech

Engine Tech Technical discussion related to all relevant engines such as KA, SR, RB, CA, 2JZ , L24/26/28, VG, VQ, and LSx series.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2016, 08:11 PM   #1
Frank_Jaeger
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Charlotte, Florida
Age: 26
Posts: 1,352
Trader Rating: (1)
Frank_Jaeger is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
AEM EMS Issues

My buddy has a 95 S14 with KA24DE, bone stock everything. He recently got an AEM EMS part number 1611. The car will not start using the base calibration file for 1611. He has another mystery map that at least starts the car, although when it does it dumps fuel and barely idles and then dies. This is with stock injectors, maf, etc, and configuring the AEM. I was under the impression that a base calibration should at least start the vehicle. If we replace the trigger wheel with the OEM piece and reinstall the stock ECU the car starts up immediately and runs fine. Any ideas?
Frank_Jaeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-21-2016, 03:43 PM   #2
[email protected]
Zilvia Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Fontana, Ca
Age: 29
Posts: 282
Trader Rating: (0)
Juan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura about
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
read the calibration notes, most of the time the calibrations AEM has that are "startup maps" are for a not stock engine. so it is always recommended to let a calibrator that knows what they are doing install & map the EMS.
__________________
Competition Engines & Dyno Tuning.

(951)708-1648 | [email protected]
Juan@Fontananissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 06:17 PM   #3
Frank_Jaeger
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Charlotte, Florida
Age: 26
Posts: 1,352
Trader Rating: (1)
Frank_Jaeger is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
read the calibration notes, most of the time the calibrations AEM has that are "startup maps" are for a not stock engine. so it is always recommended to let a calibrator that knows what they are doing install & map the EMS.
The notes on the base calibration say they're for a stock engine, stock maf, stock injectors, stock intake, etc. I'm thinking it's some kind of timing issue? The car doesn't even start to catch when cranking. I think it's not syncing to the new trigger wheel properly.
Frank_Jaeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 06:21 PM   #4
[email protected]
Zilvia Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Fontana, Ca
Age: 29
Posts: 282
Trader Rating: (0)
Juan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura about
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank_Jaeger View Post
The notes on the base calibration say they're for a stock engine, stock maf, stock injectors, stock intake, etc. I'm thinking it's some kind of timing issue? The car doesn't even start to catch when cranking. I think it's not syncing to the new trigger wheel properly.
You should def sync the ignition timing. it's not as simple as swapping a trigger wheel and go. you'll still have to set the base ignition timing with a timing gun and the software. better read that manual from front to back.
__________________
Competition Engines & Dyno Tuning.

(951)708-1648 | [email protected]
Juan@Fontananissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 06:28 PM   #5
Frank_Jaeger
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Charlotte, Florida
Age: 26
Posts: 1,352
Trader Rating: (1)
Frank_Jaeger is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
You should def sync the ignition timing. it's not as simple as swapping a trigger wheel and go. you'll still have to set the base ignition timing with a timing gun and the software. better read that manual from front to back.
That's what I don't understand. How can you sync ignition timing when you can't even get the car to start?
Frank_Jaeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 09:16 AM   #6
[email protected]
Zilvia Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Fontana, Ca
Age: 29
Posts: 282
Trader Rating: (0)
Juan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura about
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pull the sparkplugs, unplug the injectors, crank it with a timing light hooked up and go to town.
__________________
Competition Engines & Dyno Tuning.

(951)708-1648 | [email protected]
Juan@Fontananissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 09:27 AM   #7
battery1882
Zilvia Junkie
 
battery1882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chino, CA
Age: 36
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: (13)
battery1882 will become famous soon enoughbattery1882 will become famous soon enoughbattery1882 will become famous soon enoughbattery1882 will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
on a base map that was supplied for the engine, did you guys see stat sync?
battery1882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 04:22 PM   #8
Frank_Jaeger
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Charlotte, Florida
Age: 26
Posts: 1,352
Trader Rating: (1)
Frank_Jaeger is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Pull the sparkplugs, unplug the injectors, crank it with a timing light hooked up and go to town.
Will try, thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by battery1882 View Post
on a base map that was supplied for the engine, did you guys see stat sync?
No! If I remember right it was OFF while cranking.
Frank_Jaeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 10:04 PM   #9
battery1882
Zilvia Junkie
 
battery1882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chino, CA
Age: 36
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: (13)
battery1882 will become famous soon enoughbattery1882 will become famous soon enoughbattery1882 will become famous soon enoughbattery1882 will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank_Jaeger View Post
Will try, thanks!


No! If I remember right it was OFF while cranking.
Well that's probably the problem..

I had a similar issue with EMS recently. you need to read the s tooth value and put that into MX count for ems to read your crank position. refer to older ems v1 manual on how to do that. base maps are really crappy but it will run.
battery1882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 10:07 PM   #10
battery1882
Zilvia Junkie
 
battery1882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chino, CA
Age: 36
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: (13)
battery1882 will become famous soon enoughbattery1882 will become famous soon enoughbattery1882 will become famous soon enoughbattery1882 will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Here I found it for you : http://www.catalograck.com/ImgVD/AEM/30-1611.pdf

bottom of page 4 is what you need to look at and do to your friend's car.

This description is not on the new manual (ems v2) as they come with aem cas disc. May want to consider running aem cas disc in the future.
battery1882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2016, 05:38 PM   #11
Frank_Jaeger
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Charlotte, Florida
Age: 26
Posts: 1,352
Trader Rating: (1)
Frank_Jaeger is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by battery1882 View Post
Here I found it for you : http://www.catalograck.com/ImgVD/AEM/30-1611.pdf

bottom of page 4 is what you need to look at and do to your friend's car.

This description is not on the new manual (ems v2) as they come with aem cas disc. May want to consider running aem cas disc in the future.
So if we use the stock trigger wheel we have to set MX count, but if we're using the AEM trigger wheel it should sync automatically with EMS V1?
Frank_Jaeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2016, 07:52 PM   #12
jedi03
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: albuquerque
Posts: 1,130
Trader Rating: (7)
jedi03 is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
local tuner advised of the same issue...base maps would not run very well if at all...gl with tuning!
jedi03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 09:38 AM   #13
[email protected]
Zilvia Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Fontana, Ca
Age: 29
Posts: 282
Trader Rating: (0)
Juan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura about
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank_Jaeger View Post
So if we use the stock trigger wheel we have to set MX count, but if we're using the AEM trigger wheel it should sync automatically with EMS V1?
http://www.aemelectronics.com/files/...Play%20EMS.pdf

start reading.
__________________
Competition Engines & Dyno Tuning.

(951)708-1648 | [email protected]
Juan@Fontananissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 02:51 AM   #14
Frank_Jaeger
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Charlotte, Florida
Age: 26
Posts: 1,352
Trader Rating: (1)
Frank_Jaeger is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I've already read that several times. It states that for a V2 EMS you need an AEM trigger wheel. What I'm asking is if you need one for V1 EMS? According to what battery1882 said, it leads me to believe that the AEM trigger wheels are not supposed to be used or are not required on V1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi03 View Post
local tuner advised of the same issue...base maps would not run very well if at all...gl with tuning!
That reflects poorly on AEM. How hard would it be for them to dump an OEM ROM and rework it? Hint: it's not. If the provided base map runs so poorly you can't even drive (or start the car), how are you supposed to bring it to a tuner?
Frank_Jaeger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 10:17 AM   #15
Ju[email protected]
Zilvia Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Fontana, Ca
Age: 29
Posts: 282
Trader Rating: (0)
Juan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura aboutJuan@Fontananissan has a spectacular aura about
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank_Jaeger View Post
I've already read that several times. It states that for a V2 EMS you need an AEM trigger wheel. What I'm asking is if you need one for V1 EMS? According to what battery1882 said, it leads me to believe that the AEM trigger wheels are not supposed to be used or are not required on V1.


That reflects poorly on AEM. How hard would it be for them to dump an OEM ROM and rework it? Hint: it's not. If the provided base map runs so poorly you can't even drive (or start the car), how are you supposed to bring it to a tuner?
AEM did not have proper support of the OE Trigger wheel until their latest Infinity EMS, you absolutely need it.

Haltech, AEM, Vipec & Motec all provide you with a "rough starting point" but by no means is it intended to drive on, the only EMS in the market that has a startup map for a stock engine is Apexi Power FC. if you are having this much of an issue getting your car to sync timing and fire up i highly recommend you bring it to someone qualified with AEM EMS before you break something.
__________________
Competition Engines & Dyno Tuning.

(951)708-1648 | [email protected]
Juan@Fontananissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 09:06 AM   #16
battery1882
Zilvia Junkie
 
battery1882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chino, CA
Age: 36
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: (13)
battery1882 will become famous soon enoughbattery1882 will become famous soon enoughbattery1882 will become famous soon enoughbattery1882 will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank_Jaeger View Post
So if we use the stock trigger wheel we have to set MX count, but if we're using the AEM trigger wheel it should sync automatically with EMS V1?
With AEM trigger wheel, you have to set the boundary and it should sync with ems v1.

any luck with starting?
battery1882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2015, Zilvia.net™