Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Chat

Chat General Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2018, 02:10 PM   #661
TheRealSy90
Premium Member
 
TheRealSy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Yuma, AZ
Age: 28
Posts: 6,896
Trader Rating: (10)
TheRealSy90 has much to be proud ofTheRealSy90 has much to be proud ofTheRealSy90 has much to be proud ofTheRealSy90 has much to be proud ofTheRealSy90 has much to be proud ofTheRealSy90 has much to be proud ofTheRealSy90 has much to be proud ofTheRealSy90 has much to be proud ofTheRealSy90 has much to be proud ofTheRealSy90 has much to be proud ofTheRealSy90 has much to be proud of
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
They're WAY stronger than sr20 gears.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by crimsonrockett View Post
Such a good signature.
TheRealSy90 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-24-2018, 05:54 AM   #662
gmr
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
Trader Rating: (0)
gmr is making a name for him/her selfgmr is making a name for him/her self
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hi guys

Thanks for all the input and advice in this thread. Ended up going with a new 370Z, Mazworx bellhousing and crossmember, and Serial9 shifter for my S15.

Gearbox bolts up high with zero hammering or cutting of the chassis. Am stoked.









gmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 03:17 PM   #663
slider2828
Premium Member
 
slider2828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 5,615
Trader Rating: (13)
slider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Very nice! Great pics too!!!
__________________
Turn and Burn!
slider2828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 07:49 PM   #664
Kylepaschke
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 148
Trader Rating: (13)
Kylepaschke is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
@gmr that is awesome!
Kylepaschke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 05:32 PM   #665
gmr
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
Trader Rating: (0)
gmr is making a name for him/her selfgmr is making a name for him/her self
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks guys cheers.

Picked it up this weekend. First impressions:

- Serial 009 shifter is really good, very direct and engages well. It is very short. I've got a standard size shift knob and am going to get a longer one to extend the throw at my hand.
- The ratios of the CD009 box are great with 4.11 final for street driving. It's very punchy and gets up and goes. 100km/hr (about 60mph) the car sits at 2600rpm. This setup would be too short for the track where you'd be changing gears too often.
- The CD009 box is noisy. I bought a new 370Z box from Nissan and it chatters, grinds, gurgles lol. In fairness everything is solid mounted and I've got a twin plate clutch which makes as much noise. Reading 350z/370z forums they have the same issue once the dual mass flywheel is replaced. Their cars have a lot of insulation around the tunnel so I'm going to install some on my car too. In a track car it wouldn't be an issue, but it's a bit noisy for the street.
- I put new coilovers in the car at the same time, and with the ride height set I have about 80mm clearance from the ground. My car isn't low or sacked by any means. I'm going to make up a bash shield as the lip of the bellhousing could get caught.

All in all I'm very happy with the swap and would happily recommend the Mazworx and Serial009 setup.

Cheers



gmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 10:30 PM   #666
slider2828
Premium Member
 
slider2828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 5,615
Trader Rating: (13)
slider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Quick question. I have a maxworx kit sr cd009. Which starter did you guys use? It seems like the bolts on the start is smaller than the bolts in the transmission.

Any help?
__________________
Turn and Burn!
slider2828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 10:55 PM   #667
RalliartRsX
Post Whore!
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,996
Trader Rating: (30)
RalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 30 reviews
Should be stock SR starter.
RalliartRsX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 10:57 PM   #668
slider2828
Premium Member
 
slider2828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 5,615
Trader Rating: (13)
slider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Yeah you are right. I was threading it the wrong way. I should have thread it through the bell housing into the starter vs the other way. LOL.
__________________
Turn and Burn!
slider2828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 11:59 AM   #669
RalliartRsX
Post Whore!
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,996
Trader Rating: (30)
RalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfectionRalliartRsX is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 30 reviews
For the folks running the HR or JK40/41 tranny and Mazworx bell housing kit, where does the tranny adapter ring install?? About to upgrade from my early CD001 to a HR 2008 gearbox and will need to swap things over (and buy the ring from Mazworx)

Thanks
RalliartRsX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 06:25 PM   #670
speedgod^s13
Post Whore!
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Age: 38
Posts: 3,070
Trader Rating: (27)
speedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond repute
Feedback Score: 27 reviews
Send a message via AIM to speedgod^s13
How does the gearing work with the z33 trans? In my case, I have an ATS 1.5 way, with stock gearing. If I were to go with the z33 trans, would that affect anything on the rear end, or would I have to change anything to do with my gearing? Or just slap the trans in and go?
speedgod^s13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 06:30 PM   #671
roninwon
Zilvia Junkie
 
roninwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nampa, ID
Age: 32
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: (7)
roninwon is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via MSN to roninwon Send a message via Yahoo to roninwon
I have the stock 4.08 gearing and I don’t like it at freeway speeds. I’m going to swap my gears over the the s15 3.692 for some better rpms at those speeds.
__________________
roninwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 06:36 PM   #672
speedgod^s13
Post Whore!
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Age: 38
Posts: 3,070
Trader Rating: (27)
speedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond reputespeedgod^s13 has a reputation beyond repute
Feedback Score: 27 reviews
Send a message via AIM to speedgod^s13
Quote:
Originally Posted by roninwon View Post
I have the stock 4.08 gearing and I donít like it at freeway speeds. Iím going to swap my gears over the the s15 3.692 for some better rpms at those speeds.
What are your rpm at 60mph?
speedgod^s13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 09:16 PM   #673
roninwon
Zilvia Junkie
 
roninwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nampa, ID
Age: 32
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: (7)
roninwon is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via MSN to roninwon Send a message via Yahoo to roninwon
Not sure cause speedo isn’t set up yet but I’m hitting about 3800 rpm at freeway speeds
__________________
roninwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 12:11 AM   #674
LoSt180
Zilvia Addict
 
LoSt180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 809
Trader Rating: (18)
LoSt180 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 18 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedgod^s13 View Post
How does the gearing work with the z33 trans? In my case, I have an ATS 1.5 way, with stock gearing. If I were to go with the z33 trans, would that affect anything on the rear end, or would I have to change anything to do with my gearing? Or just slap the trans in and go?
The over-drive gear isn't much taller than the 5 speed. .79 on the Z33 vs .84 on s14. So don't expect low cruising rpm just because you have an extra gear. The difference is in the 2-3-4 gears.

Can plug the ratios into a gear speed calculator and see if you'll need to change up the final drive. Or drive it and make a decision later.
LoSt180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 07:30 PM   #675
dreaMervaj
Zilvia Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: (16)
dreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymore
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Clem View Post
Ok guys, I have the factory speedo working in the S14. I tried to use some of this info on mine but he is using a SGI-5c and I believe thatís just the older model as the newer model SCI-5e does not have dip switches and is all electronic options and adjustments. After playing with it some, Iíve got my settings that worked for me. Iím sure thereís a few ways to set it up but here is what I did. Intellitronix box setup just like his, to the 16,000ppm output. You do not need the VSS signal ground to have the speedo work. All you need is the Red/yel wire that feeds the VSS signal to the speedo. Couple of places to grab it, either directly from the back of the cluster or down the line closer to the lower harness. I spliced it right at the cluster because it wasnít was just easier for me at the time. So take that and use it for the Dakota output 1. Use the white wire off the intellitronix for the input to the Dakota obviously and with this setup, mine was defaulted to the L-L or low to low setting already but if yours isnít, follow the instructions and change it to this. You just hold the set button while powering up to see which program itís on. Once all this is wired, and program is selected you can set your gain, or whatever itís called. The ďcalibrationĒ of the Dakota box. It shows you in the instructions but basically there is just a + and - button and you adjust the correction factor. With a 235/40/18 and using a gps speed app on my phone, I ended up at .512 with the above settings and it is absolutely dead on at all speeds. I really hope this helps someone because it was difficult to find any info for me on the stock cluster input and all that but here you go.

So in summary, all you need is

Intellitronix GPS Speed sensor and the Dakota SGI-5e, the above settings for Lou is using an older SGI-5c unit with dip switches, and the ones sold now are digital and do not have that, just to clear up confusion. I was confused so I thought Iíd share that.

So intellitronix only needs power and ground.

Setup the dip switches to 16,000ppm which in what Lou posted, but itís in the paper that comes with the unit and there are two options for 16,000, either should work.

Dakota Digital SGI-5e:

Power
Ground
Signal in- white wire from intellitronix unit
Out 1- Red/Yellow wire at cluster (VSS Signal)

THIS IS ALL YOU NEED FOR SPEED OUTPUT ON THE CLUSTER. You do not need VSS ground or anything else hooked up to the unit.

Settings- Low-Low and calibration .512 with a 235/40/18 but set it around here and fine tune for your car using a GPS speed app. I too used Speedbox for iOS
I messaged DClem but didn't get a response. Has anyone used this setup? My speed or rpm is not working at the moment. Does the above setup fix both the speed AND rpm?
dreaMervaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 11:14 PM   #676
slider2828
Premium Member
 
slider2828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 5,615
Trader Rating: (13)
slider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfectionslider2828 is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaMervaj View Post
I messaged DClem but didn't get a response. Has anyone used this setup? My speed or rpm is not working at the moment. Does the above setup fix both the speed AND rpm?
RPM is not part of the tranny readout. RPM's come from the CAS sensor I believe.
__________________
Turn and Burn!
slider2828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 12:23 PM   #677
dreaMervaj
Zilvia Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: (16)
dreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymoredreaMervaj is not welcome here anymore
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by slider2828 View Post
RPM is not part of the tranny readout. RPM's come from the CAS sensor I believe.
Is there any way to get the RPMs to work on a KA setup?
dreaMervaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 02:00 PM   #678
LoSt180
Zilvia Addict
 
LoSt180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 809
Trader Rating: (18)
LoSt180 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 18 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaMervaj View Post
Is there any way to get the RPMs to work on a KA setup?
The cluster gets the RPM feed from the ECU. So check your wiring, or you might have a bad cluster.

Speedo feed comes from an external sensor (in trans for S13/S14 or from ABS controller for S15), then the cluster passes a speed signal to the ECU. The setup you quoted is instructions to connect a different external speed sensor since the CD0 trans doesn't have a speed sensor built in.

Probably need to make a new thread, or chime in on the Small Questions Thread if you're having other issues not related to a CD009 trans swap.
LoSt180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2015, Zilvia.netô