Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Motorsports and Skilled Driving

Motorsports and Skilled Driving Discussion for Organized Racing and motorsports and tips and techniques at becoming a better driver.

Old 08-16-2017, 12:24 AM   #1
Sidwayz

Trader Rating: (0)
Sidwayz is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Beginner Drifter - Did terrible after changing rear tires during the break

Hey everyone, so over the weekend I attended my 4th drift event of the summer. Its my first year and I'm looking for advice on picking rear tire stickiness. I was on some sport Continental tires (Y grade, hard not very sticky, 245 width) for the past three and a half events and I was doing really well, connecting everything, I was really confident. Last event I went through them and switched to my spares, Achilles ATR Sport 2 in a 235 width, they were a recommended tire, W rating and fairly sticky. I couldn't believe how much stickier they were! It totally threw me off and I did pretty bad for the rest of the event. Do I go back to the not so sticky tire because I'm better that way? I drive an s14 making 400whp.. Feel like I should be "re-learning" on the stickier stuff. Thanks all!

Last edited by Sidwayz; 08-16-2017 at 08:35 AM..
Sidwayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-16-2017, 02:18 AM   #2
derass
Zilvia FREAK!

derass is making a name for him/her selfderass is making a name for him/her self
135 and 145 width? Do you mean 235 and 245?
derass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2017, 08:24 AM   #3
brndck
Premium Member

Trader Rating: (130)