Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Chat

Chat General Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars

Old 03-27-2015, 12:16 AM   #1
Spectre420

Trader Rating: (0)
Spectre420 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
s13 Best delivery driver engine for the s13

So I have a 91 s13 hatchback and I am a delivery driver for my primary income at the moment. This car is also going to be my daily driver.

The time has come for my KA. Its burning oil more and more by the day and losing power quickly. I had seached and figured the best plan was to rebuild the ka but now I have the money and am doing the final research before I pull the trigger and I see ALOT of sr20det's getting good mpgs (like 30 around town =O) at 260+- HP and it makes me second guess my plans cuz 260>200-225 ima end up with. So I figured I would post about what I think and ask how everyone feels.

So heres my logic,

They get their really good MPGs by staying out of boost (People say this) n thus driving slowly (I dont like)
Also, they dont make much grunt outa boost cuz of 8.5:1 2L motor and dont get into boost till after I have shifted most of the time so the power is unusable (I dont like)

Being a DD and a delivery vehicle, I want a few things:
Reliability
MPGs
Usable/streetable power

I was planning on rebuilding the ka because I already have it and a L/W flywheel for it and it would make the motor run like new for a LONG time to come.
I plan on 11.1:1 sohc pistons
248/248 stock cams
I(with e60 maf)/H(4-2-1 equal length)/E(3")
valve job
polished head
crank/windage scraper
L/w pulleys
PS/AC delete
Tune the factory automatic ECU (the car is 5-speed, NOT auto)
Upgraded alternator for less drag
LW fly/driveshaft/wheels
high flow cat and resonators