Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Chat

Chat General Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars

Old 07-20-2015, 03:07 PM   #1
Dylan780

Trader Rating: (0)
Dylan780 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Wiring dilemma

I have a decision to make and I am looking for a little input from some more experienced people on this forum.

This is not my first time working on or modifying a car, but it is my first time dealing with a Nissan and any sort of what I would consider complex wiring.

I recently picked up an S13 240sx rolling chassis with plans to drop in an SR20DET I had laying around to build a fun weekend warrior/drift car. The frame is dead straight, there is minimal to zero rust anywhere on the body or frame, has 50mm rear over fenders and a roll cage but the shell has absolutely no wiring.

I would consider myself somewhat mechanically inclined and this will be my first time swapping a motor but I feel confident that I can do it quite easily with some research and time. BUT I am a complete beginner when it comes to any sort of wiring, which leads me to a few questions and concerns.

How difficult is it to re wire an entire car? I have the upper and lower harnesses for the motor and tranny but that is all the wiring I have for the car. There will be no AC, no radio, no power lock/windows, nothing besides the minimum needed to drive a car.

Is it worth it to keep working on this shell or to pick up another with all the wiring still in the car?

Thanks for any input!

Last edited by Dylan780; 07-20-2015 at 03:52 PM..
Dylan780 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-20-2015, 03:32 PM   #2
JSimpson
Banned from the Marketplace

Trader Rating: (15)
JSimpson is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 15 reviews