Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Technical Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2014, 09:48 PM   #1
SidewaysJake
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 28
Trader Rating: (0)
SidewaysJake is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Can I run t25 on s14 sr?(come t28 from factory)

Pros(if any) of running t25 on a s14 sr? They come stock t28. My turbo is gone, burns oil when I boost. A friend has a t25 and I was wondering what would happen if I ran it.

injectors aren't for t25. Run rich, wash cylinder walls out, blow up?

Let me know your opinion!
SidewaysJake is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-13-2014, 10:55 PM   #2
typhoonslippery
Zilvia Addict
 
typhoonslippery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 812
Trader Rating: (10)
typhoonslippery will become famous soon enoughtyphoonslippery will become famous soon enoughtyphoonslippery will become famous soon enoughtyphoonslippery will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
rebuild t28
__________________
CA18 is the only way to go!
typhoonslippery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 11:37 PM   #3
SidewaysJake
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 28
Trader Rating: (0)
SidewaysJake is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by typhoonslippery View Post
rebuild t28
I plan on it, but there's an event I wanna make in 2 weeks and the rebuild wouldn't be done by then. Was wondering if running t25 would be possible. Just found out both s13 and s14 srs have the same injectors (370cc) so I wouldn't run rich. Do you know the flange size of t28?
SidewaysJake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 12:45 AM   #4
bmxer882x
Zilvia Junkie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: chandler
Age: 25
Posts: 370
Trader Rating: (3)
bmxer882x is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
in short, no u cant

The t25 bolts up differently which is why us guys with a s13 sr needed to get clocking adapters when we swapped turbos. In order to make it work you would need a new intake and hotpipe. But since your only wanting to run it short term it wouldnt be worth it. unless he has an intake and hotpipe you could borrow as well.
As far as running correctly I wouldnt worry to much. I ran a s15 t28 turbo on my stock s13 sr for 2-3 months and noticed no running lean or anything on my wideband.
bmxer882x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 09:07 AM   #5
Prok0
Zilvia Junkie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: FL
Age: 31
Posts: 376
Trader Rating: (0)
Prok0 will become famous soon enoughProk0 will become famous soon enoughProk0 will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Prok0
Yea you can run it, you would just need to modify the intake setup, and the hotpipe.

Also the drain tube is a bit different between t25/28.

I wouldnt worry about the tune as if its pulling less air, the MAF is going to see that, not show as much voltage, and should in turn not dump as much fuel.
__________________
Sales @ Enjuku
email:[email protected] phone:352-241-8399
Prok0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 10:22 AM   #6
jr_ss
Post Whore!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fl
Posts: 5,745
Trader Rating: (33)
jr_ss is a jewel in the roughjr_ss is a jewel in the roughjr_ss is a jewel in the roughjr_ss is a jewel in the roughjr_ss is a jewel in the roughjr_ss is a jewel in the roughjr_ss is a jewel in the roughjr_ss is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 33 reviews
Send a message via AIM to jr_ss
Your car is busted, fix it, miss the event. There will always be another event.
__________________
My SR20VET
jr_ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 01:17 PM   #7
SilviaSR20DET
Zilvia FREAK!
 
SilviaSR20DET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,208
Trader Rating: (9)
SilviaSR20DET is making a name for him/her selfSilviaSR20DET is making a name for him/her selfSilviaSR20DET is making a name for him/her self
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Just a get used t28 there's plenty of them around for sale. I wouldnt want to downgrade to a t25 on a s14 sr, the powerband would react a bit different.
SilviaSR20DET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 09:16 PM   #8
jscherf92
Zilvia Junkie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 26
Posts: 425
Trader Rating: (6)
jscherf92 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
dunno if youre considering it but ive got a t25/28 rebuild kit from G-Pop Shop, im not gonna be using it. They're usually $80 plus another $14+ for shipping. Its yours for $75 shipped. Let me know.
jscherf92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 12:07 PM   #9
SidewaysJake
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 28
Trader Rating: (0)
SidewaysJake is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jscherf92 View Post
dunno if youre considering it but ive got a t25/28 rebuild kit from G-Pop Shop, im not gonna be using it. They're usually $80 plus another $14+ for shipping. Its yours for $75 shipped. Let me know.
I have one also, Im pretty sure it's for journal bearing, I have ball bearing.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (103.4 KB, 39 views)
SidewaysJake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 01:57 PM   #10
jscherf92
Zilvia Junkie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 26
Posts: 425
Trader Rating: (6)
jscherf92 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Ah, yeah then youll need a new chra ~$600+. You might be better off finding a used T28 on here but there certainly wouldn't be anything wrong with the T25 for a short period of time but you will probably notice a difference in spool, response, and overall behavior of the engine and its output.
jscherf92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 03:04 PM   #11
SidewaysJake
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 28
Trader Rating: (0)
SidewaysJake is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Would I need s13 manifold and lines to run t25? Or will everything bolt right up?
SidewaysJake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 03:22 PM   #12
eek
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Age: 37
Posts: 1,025
Trader Rating: (29)
eek has much to be proud ofeek has much to be proud ofeek has much to be proud ofeek has much to be proud ofeek has much to be proud ofeek has much to be proud ofeek has much to be proud ofeek has much to be proud ofeek has much to be proud ofeek has much to be proud ofeek has much to be proud of
Feedback Score: 29 reviews
If you actually spent the time to search you would have figured out that the t25/t28 flange on the s13/s14/s15 are all the same. Even looking at after market bolt on manifolds would have netted you that.

Your answer to your latest question has been answered in post #4 and #5.
eek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 03:38 PM   #13
Loomis112
Zilvia Member
 
Loomis112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Age: 24
Posts: 202
Trader Rating: (0)
Loomis112 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It would fit your manifold but it would take some work to get everything to line up right plus it would be a downgrade. Rebuild the t28.
Loomis112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 07:26 PM   #14
jbt_92
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Age: 26
Posts: 45
Trader Rating: (0)
jbt_92 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by eek View Post
If you actually spent the time to search you would have figured out that the t25/t28 flange on the s13/s14/s15 are all the same. Even looking at after market bolt on manifolds would have netted you that.

Your answer to your latest question has been answered in post #4 and #5.
jbt_92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 07:33 PM   #15
rotation3x
Zilvia Member
 
rotation3x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: virginia
Age: 32
Posts: 272
Trader Rating: (2)
rotation3x has made poor choicesrotation3x has made poor choicesrotation3x has made poor choicesrotation3x has made poor choicesrotation3x has made poor choicesrotation3x has made poor choices
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to rotation3x
I have been running the isis t25/28 on my s14 sr @ 12 lbs no tune runs fine.
rotation3x is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
sr20 240 s13 sr20det, sr20 240 s14 sr20det, t25, t28, turbo


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2015, Zilvia.net™