Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Technical Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2013, 11:17 PM   #1
aga
Zilvia Junkie
 
aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 580
Trader Rating: (0)
aga is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
wrong rpm?

hey guys, a question! (no shit!) my car's rpm gauge (the dash one) started showing 500-1000 rpm more than real. i see on my commander that i have for example 1000rpm idle, and the dash says 2000...besides i can tell by the sound too. it happened before for a trip then straightened itself out. now here it is again. is it a cable , somewhere rubbing or something? i guess ecu to dash?
aga is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-12-2013, 11:22 PM   #2
brndck
Premium Member
 
brndck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: costa mesa, ca
Age: 36
Posts: 10,630
Trader Rating: (122)
brndck is close to perfectionbrndck is close to perfectionbrndck is close to perfectionbrndck is close to perfectionbrndck is close to perfectionbrndck is close to perfectionbrndck is close to perfectionbrndck is close to perfectionbrndck is close to perfectionbrndck is close to perfectionbrndck is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 122 reviews
Send a message via AIM to brndck
its not a mechanical tach. the instrument cluster gets a signal from the ecu.
the ecu gets a signal from the distributor if you have a KA, but seeing as you're in greece you probably have a CA or SR? the SR and CA use a cam angle sensor (cas).

are you using a power fc?
__________________

http://outslidersandsmokeproduce.blogspot.com/
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mannykiller View Post
it'll fit JANK.. and no one likes Jank except Broke ass zilvians.
brndck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 11:27 PM   #3
aga
Zilvia Junkie
 
aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 580
Trader Rating: (0)
aga is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have an s14 sr , with powerfc. by cable, i meant electrical cable. (you're used to calling them wires, sorry)
aga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:40 AM   #4
Sileighty_85
Post Whore!
 
Sileighty_85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Misawa, Japan
Posts: 6,798
Trader Rating: (8)
Sileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
Probably the gauge itself. Pretty common for S14s to do that.

You can reflow the solder points on the back of the gauge that the screw go into in hopes that fixes it.
__________________
後輪駆動車1番
1989 Built SR GT2871R -363whp
1998 S14 W/RB25- 250ish (For Now)
1986 SR86 - 200ish
1990 R32 GTR - 320hp
Don't Buy Engines from JDM-Online http://zilvia.net/f/businesses/207457-jdm-online.html
Don't Buy XS-Power or SSAC Shit
Sileighty_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:42 AM   #5
aga
Zilvia Junkie
 
aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 580
Trader Rating: (0)
aga is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so , a broken soldering point could be the cause? i'll check it.
aga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 01:15 PM   #6
aga
Zilvia Junkie
 
aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 580
Trader Rating: (0)
aga is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
driving home today i noticed a method to this madness...

the gauge rpm are twice the real ones!

1000 rpm = 2000rpm

3000, = 6000

my car is learning multiplication tables it seems.
aga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 01:57 PM   #7
zerodameaon
Post Whore!
 
zerodameaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bay Area CA, Sutherlin OR
Age: 30
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: (3)
zerodameaon is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by aga View Post

my car is learning multiplication tables it seems.
Hopefully it does not achieve sentience anytime soon.

Sileighty_85 knows his stuff here, he pretty much started the discussion on Zilvia of fixing the issue rather then replacing the tach.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMigs View Post
That's a one-way trip to understeer land...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKdaMoRoN View Post
Maybe you should petition the retards who are paying 5k for an S13.

Need to adjust your idle?
http://zilvia.net/f/s-chassis/395413...-pictures.html
zerodameaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 02:20 PM   #8
aga
Zilvia Junkie
 
aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 580
Trader Rating: (0)
aga is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerodameaon View Post
Hopefully it does not achieve sentience anytime soon.
if it does , its gonna thank me for saving her from the previous owner. yeah its certainly something wire-related, im gonna look into it after work, if they let me leave some decent hour...
aga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 07:21 PM   #9
coupesallday!
Post Whore!
 
coupesallday!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: 661,Lancaster,CA
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: (17)
coupesallday! is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 17 reviews
Send a message via MSN to coupesallday!
I tried soldering mine and it does not work. My gauge is still at 2k everytime I turn my car on instead of 1k but it's not really that high.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matej View Post
Throw some glitter flake and crazy glue in there.
coupesallday! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 11:35 PM   #10
aga
Zilvia Junkie
 
aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 580
Trader Rating: (0)
aga is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i removed the dash and resoldered everything behind the gauge.

i would say it did SOME difference,but not fixed it. now it sometimes works fine, sometimes x2 and sometimes something in between. i've noticed it jumping around while sitting at a traffic light. there's a big resistance behind the gauge, could it be knackered? should i try to replace that one? if that doesnt work i'm tossing it and replace it with a Koso motorcycle thingy, my mate's got one and it's excellent

aga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 03:32 AM   #11
aga
Zilvia Junkie
 
aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 580
Trader Rating: (0)
aga is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
found the cause of my woes. there's a plug near the ecu at the passenger footwell that was loose. when you wiggle that, the rpm's bounce all over the place. tie wrap remedy, all ok.
aga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 03:44 AM   #12
Ayy_mo
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Honolulu,Hawaii
Posts: 82
Trader Rating: (0)
Ayy_mo is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
glad to hear
Ayy_mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dash, electrical, rpm, s13


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2015, Zilvia.net™